1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root new guy question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by paulgl26, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. paulgl26

    paulgl26 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    construction
    chicago
    Finally got an evo after getting tired of hero lag
    The guy that door me the phone said it was rooted(I know have to read some more)
    My problem is that gmail is not sincing
    Is this a problem with rooted phones?
    Any way around?
    Love the rest of phone
    And my house is in a 4g area :)
    Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    My phone has been rooted since release and I have never had a problem with gmail. Do you have your mobile network set to always on? What about background data?
     
  3. paulgl26

    paulgl26 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    construction
    chicago
    Background data is on
    Where do I set mobile data always on?
    I have mobile network on
    Thx
     
  4. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Menu>Settings>Wireless & Networks>Mobile Networks

    Also, you do have the gmail account set to sync right?

    Menu>Settings>Accounts & Sync>Google

    Make sure all of the items that you want to be synced are selected in the google account.
     
  5. paulgl26

    paulgl26 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    construction
    chicago
    Yes everything is on
    I had a hero so I know the basics
    I'll try to update profile and turn it off again
    Thx
     
  6. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    I don't think a profile update will do anything unless you are having a problem with your data connection. Have you tried removing the account and adding it again?
     
  7. paulgl26

    paulgl26 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    construction
    chicago
    I works now after the update and turning it off
    Thanks guys
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...