1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Orange ROM accepting unlock code

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DevKar22, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. DevKar22

    DevKar22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    Hi,

    With the earlier Orange ROM , even if we enter the unlock code, the hero shows a screen with message "unlocking " and this screen remain for ever.

    Anyone has idea if this issue is fixed with new orange ROM released in feb 2010.
    (i.e the code should unlock the mobile without any issue)
     

    Advertisement

  2. DevKar22

    DevKar22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    Earlier the unlock code did not work on ROM .6 of orange HTC hero .

    I have installed the new orange ROM .66 on my htc hero and the unlock code worked fine without any issues.

    Just unbelievable.
    The phone is now unlocked........
     
  3. PXUmais

    PXUmais Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Yes, apparently the new .66 Orange Rom fixes the issue and now allows unlock codes to actually unlock the phone.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    From another thread:
    In this case, how can a new ROM fix what isn't actually an issue, but is an Orange business practice?
     
  5. DevKar22

    DevKar22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    The ROM update fixed the unlock issue.
    I entered the unlock code and and network unlock happened.
    Iam able to use it on a network other than orange
     
  6. PXUmais

    PXUmais Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Did you use an unlock code that you got from somewhere other then orange or was it directly from orange?
     
  7. DevKar22

    DevKar22 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    I did not get it from orange.
    Got it from a site
     
  8. PXUmais

    PXUmais Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    So that shows that orange isn't controlling the unlock codes meaning that the quote lekky showed is incorrect. At least the new rom update lets people unlock em without installing a custom rom (which voids the guaruntee).
     
  9. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    @lekky
    AFAIK that info from another thread is not correct. Users have reported that even numbers supplied by Orange could not unlock their own phones. One or two I have read suggested that they were supplied by Orange with the same number as from an online source.

    from what I understand this was a bug in the ROM which appears to have now been corrected. One person reported that after flashing the new ROM he was able to successfully use the unlock code he had been given that did not work with the old ROM
     
  10. PXUmais

    PXUmais Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    The new .66 rom fixed the bug that was stopping even orange's unlock codes from working: thats the only big difference in the update
     
  11. Garybrazier

    Garybrazier Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Medical Device Engineer
    Harwich, Essex & Cardiff Uk
    Basic question I guess but if I upgrade to latest Rom which allows unlocking from Orange, what will I need to re-install? (apps, contacts etc) If required, what is easiest way to backup?

    Thanks
    Gary

    HTC on Orange UK
     
  12. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Bedford, UK
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...