• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to Android - Setup Questions

MitzEclipse

Lurker
Apr 12, 2011
Hi, I'm new to Android (upgraded from BB Bold) and have been a BB person for years - I've got some setup questions.

This is a HTC Sensation on Vodafone UK running OS 2.3.3

- Notifications: How do I customize the LED on the phone? For some reason it does not blink when I receive Whatsapp messages.

- Email Notifications - Again these email notifications are not activating the LED for some reason?

- Upon downloading an application from the Market, it shows up in the upper left hand notifications. The icon stays there until I click the app and launch the app. How do I clear the icons at the same time?

- Wifi Hotspot - When I share the Wifi Hotspot (with for example my iPod Touch) does this use any additional data charges? It's not deemed 'tethering' is it?

- On the lock and main screens - how can I customize it so I can show multiple digital clocks? I'd like to show 5 clocks from different timezones

- I have 7 home screens - is there a way to 1) eliminate the screens down to 3 as I don't use all the screens or 2) edit the screens so I can have one of the screens be Whatsapp?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome,

- Notifications: How do I customize the LED on the phone? For some reason it does not blink when I receive Whatsapp messages.

On your home screen press menu -> settings -> display -> notification flash.

- Email Notifications - Again these email notifications are not activating the LED for some reason?

See above.

- Upon downloading an application from the Market, it shows up in the upper left hand notifications. The icon stays there until I click the app and launch the app. How do I clear the icons at the same time?

Press the clear button when you pull down the notification bar, should be near upper right corner.