• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root new user with questions please help!~ :T

Gimmick

Sep 26, 2010
so I'm pretty freakin' new to the android phones, or anything better than a blackberry pearl. I was just wondering if anyone could help me out here, I'm no rocket scientist but i can figure things out okay.

I just rooted my samsung vibrant a little while ago and.... now what? I saw a screenshot thread that had people with AMAZING looking displays and how do i do all of this? Or could i get directed somewhere to get started ?

please help! :D

like, how do i get certain things to display? ( different looking icons, backgrounds, etc), how do i overclock my phone? should i? How do i flash a rom? what does that even mean?!
haha, sorry for the newbie questions, I've just been looking around and I get so lost sooo fast!

any help would be greatly appreciated

Upvote 0
A rom is basically like changing the os. They take all the bloatware of the image, tweak it and then package it so you can load it on the phone. In the simplest terms of course

There are a few launchers you can try out. ADW and Launcher pro are the most popular each have their own goods and bads. Do a search for launchers for android on google and that will help you

As far as over clocking the standard program to change settings is setcpu in the market. The stndard image will only let you go to 1000 But if you flash the bionix image it will allow you to go to 1200

Welcome aboard and I am kinda new as well so if I misspoke hopefully someone will correct me

Upvote 0
so I'm pretty freakin' new to the android phones, or anything better than a blackberry pearl. I was just wondering if anyone could help me out here, I'm no rocket scientist but i can figure things out okay.