• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

***Official Galaxy S5 First Impressions Thread***

I'm very disappointed in this phones lack of docking ability compared with Note2. Very disappointed. None of the docks and car mounts I had for the Note2 work on the S5, not even to charge let alone audio or hdmi output. It's very unlike samsung to reduce functionality and convenience in a new model.

Exactly what happened when Apple changed the charging point on the iPhones to the Lightning connector.. lots of unhappy people!

Upvote 0
Love mine. Had the Note 2 & S3 before. Got this S5 with a black flip leather case two days ago. I'm a pro photographer so the camera features are important, like when I go to Disneyland next week, I will leave my Nikon D3 at home and use this phone instead. Along with that, the screen is real nice, battery lasts all day for a change, 5 screen modes, it's FAST... Weather proofing is nice too. A lot of nice features and programs on this phone.

My only complaint is the color choices. I like RED. Here in the NW, there is only black or white to choose from. So when they come out with a good looking red flip case, I'll get one.

You know what gets me though... all the reviews bashed the "plain Plastic" looks of the S5. It doesn't look or feel cheap at all to me. Feels very solid. If you drop it, Samsung plastic is more durable then the alum or metal finishes on the other phones.

Here the thing... all the reviews rave about how good the HTC & iPhone looks... and say the Samsung is, uh... Bland... well most people go and put a case of some kind on their phone and then all that hype is moot. I got the S-View Flip Cover.

I like Samsung as most of my gear is Samsung, my notebook, Tab 3, S3, Note 2 and several different sizes Samsung HDTV's in the house. So I wasn't gonna jump ship this time. Glad I didn't.