• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Old school phone user looking 4 modern phone

Hi all! I posted this in the newb section, and I need help. Im an old school cell user looking to switch phone, I've got T-MOBILE and wish to remain with them however I would like to switch to a modern cell for the primary reason of surfing the net with wifi, simillar to itouch, but I dont want to get an itouch. I want a phone with such capabilities that I wont need to pay extra for the data & web packages, also would like to have some sort of text document program for on the fly.....

as you can tell from my post I am a noob, been using my old school phone for a while, any suggestions please?

All Android phones will fulfill your prerequisites. So, narrowing that down to T-Mobile, you've got the following options:

Nexus One
myTouch 3G
Samsung Behold II
Motorola Cliq

The N1 is the most powerful of the lot, no question asked--and one of the most powerful smartphones available right now, period, with its hardware. It's also, out of this lot, got the biggest screen (if that's a factor for you). Being a Google phone, it will receive OS updates the fastest, weeks or even months before every other device.

If you're not a power user and don't require the latest and greatest I don't have much to say about the Cliq as I'm unfamiliar with it, but the myTouch 3G is a very solid phone that's good at what it does.

Upvote 0
get the phone and then a week down the road, call up t-mobile's customer service number and cancel the internet.

T-mobile stores and possibly customer service will tell you that the phone will not function properly without it. I can safely tell you that it is complete bull. It will be just fine.

If customer service tells you that you cannot turn it off, tell them you are getting a motorola razor from a buddy that youre going to use and you dont need the data plan.