1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ***ota gingerbread is not rootable (you have to d/l the pre-rooted version to have root)*****

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by trophynuts, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    No z4 root will not work

    if you want gb rooted you have to install a pre rooted version al'a p3droid.
     

    Advertisement

  2. emaN resU

    emaN resU Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    203
    135
    88
    Systems engineer
    Arizona
    Also, gingerbreak 1.2 will not work either. I tried. :D
     
  3. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    exactly...but i'm seeing more and more people asking about z4.

    i think the problem is a lot of people rooted way back when on Froyo and pretty much left it at that....and haven't stayed in the loop. Now they have gotten GB via OTA and z4 is the first thing that comes to mind. I'm just trying to save people some trouble in asking the same question 1200000 times.
     
    Nightwind Hawk likes this.
  4. emaN resU

    emaN resU Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    203
    135
    88
    Systems engineer
    Arizona
    You are just kickin butt and chewing gum today lol :D how did you not get a guide job?
     
  5. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,983
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,983
    25,407
    3,933
    Male
    Clarified the title. :)
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US


    i didn't ask for one. My job allows me time to sit here all day at times but there are times when i won't have net access but for only a couple hours a day. I wouldn't want to waste a guide spot like that.
     
    emaN resU likes this.
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,983
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,983
    25,407
    3,933
    Male
    He CAN'T be a guide. He my own personal guide, hired on the side. That's far more prestigious than any guide position at Android Forums, right? ;)
     
    emaN resU and trophynuts like this.
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    lol i'll take that as a compliment
     
    Steven58 likes this.
  9. Arcaggelos

    Arcaggelos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Is it possible to go back to Froyo?
     
  10. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US

    yes but only by SBF'ing
     
  11. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    I installed the rooted leak a couple days ago because I can't live without root on my phone. I wanted to wait for the official OTA, but knowing it isn't currently rootable changed my mind. That being said, I expect at some point the OTA will be rootable, but who knows when that will be.
     
  12. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    ok If you installed the pre rooted .596....that is the ota rooted.

    the OTA is rooted but not via a one click method or any other method similar to Z4 or Gbreak.
     
  13. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    I'm sure, given time, a root method will show itself for GB. After all, i'm sure at one time Froyo wasn't rootable. But for now the only way to get root/deodexed with GB is to download one of the pre rooted/deodexed versions.

    These versions are THE SAME EXACT THING as the ota. Just more fun to work with thanks to TBH of course.
     
  14. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  15. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Is the rooted .596 exactly the same as the OTA .596?
     
  16. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    Wally refer to above.......lol.
     
  17. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    They both say .596 but how do you know they are identical? What is this based on?
     
  18. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    The files uploaded by TBH ARE the same files as the OTA. One copy was left stock so you could flash it to your phone if VZW didn't send it out to you. That would be the 2 file one. Then they have a deodexed version and an odexed version if you are already running the 595 GB.

    If you want any more technical specs on these files you should go to the source over at Mydroidworld. I don't know what else you require as proof that these are the same files as the OTA.
     
  19. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    .....bump due to the fact that its way down the list and i have noticed a few new threads regarding this....
     
  20. thebust

    thebust Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    What problems are you having exactly? Currently running the 596 ota rooted using z4.
     
  21. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia

    I call bullcrap
     
  22. thebust

    thebust Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    try this method

    let us know how it goes :D

    and for you're further woes, read down the page a bit.*
     
  23. hahaha what

    hahaha what Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    371
    68
    53
    i dont understand how that post has anything to do with rooting the .596 ota with z4
     
  24. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Most likey the current Rooted OTA was done in a kitchen ;)
     
  25. thebust

    thebust Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    sorry it wasn't helpful, but that is the method i used in order to get GB rooted.

    my droid x was stock and rooted before updating to gb, after removing dx bootstrap and removing root(manual method) tried to upgrade via stock recovery and was stuck with a 'assert failed: apply_check_patch.. blah blah blah,' so i re-rooted, used root explorer to delete the files by hand (as opposed to using terminal), installed D2 Bootstrap, did a data wipe, and installed GB then rooted successfully after with z4 d=]
     

Share This Page

Loading...