1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root overclocking question...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dsuther13, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Hey guys i have a rooted evo running gingerbread 2.3.3 with the sacs kingdom rom v9 and the amon RA recovery. I want to overclock it and i downloaded goldenmonkey and on the reboot the screen stayed white so i performed my nandroid restore and got it running again. But i was wondering if i can get a play by play on how to do the process properly. Im kind of a newbie so please in simple terms. I also downloaded the netarchy toastmod kernel and am going to flash that kernel right now and give you guys an update. Thank so much guys!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do not use the netarchy toastmod kernel that is for froyo roms and your rom is gingerbread. you will get a bunch of problems if you flash it.

    do you have setcpu? that is what you need to use to overclock your kernel. just make sure that you do not have set on boot checked because of you overclock to high your phone may not like it very much. and if you have set on boot then you most likely will get a bootloop that is a bitch to get out of. for me if i go above 1190 my phone seizes up. so 1190 is my max and is stable at the frequency. read the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/389360-kernels-dummies.html. to learn more about kernels. and also at the bottom is a link to a guide to setcpu.
     
    dsuther13 and iMethod like this.
  3. iMethod

    iMethod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    27
    23
    Houston, Texas


    Kernel: ChopSuey v.9.1
    SetCPU: Screen off (128/245)
    Charging ( 128/1190)
    Temp (122f > (128/652)
    If non not charging i use 128/648 On Demand for light use
    For heavy use (gaming) 652/1075 On Demand

    Works like a charm for me, remember FOR ME lol you can try this out and edit it to your taste.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  4. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Ok good thing i checked the thread before I flashed. im literally in recovery ready to do it. thanks for letting me know. i have read the guide Kernels for dummies but to make sure i understand completely do i flash a kernel exactly like i would a custom ROM? And how do i know if it is set on boot? I already have setcpu too. iMethod im going to try the Chopsuey and let you know if it works. Thanks guys.....
     
  5. iMethod

    iMethod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    27
    23
    Houston, Texas
    You can flash a kernel just like rom, I usually create a backup, super wipe, install rom , install kernel and then reboot. Most people reboot before flashing the kernel to make sure the rom is working and then flash the kernel just incase the kernel messes up or rom and they know which caused the problem but i never run into issues.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    the only thing different is that you do not wipe data. so just wipe dalvik cache and cache and flash the kernel.

    when you go into setcpu on the main menu you will see set on boot. once you know that your overclock setting is not causing any issues then you can go ahead and set on boot.
     
    dsuther13 and iMethod like this.
  7. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Last time i tried to flash a kernel i had really no idea what i was doing and it ruined my phone to where i couldnt even get back into hboot or even start my phone. All it would do is go to the white screen, turn off, repeat.... even if i took the battery out so i had to get a new phone. funny thing is it was so bad even sprint couldnt tell it was rooted so my warranty covered it. i got lucky. so im doin a lot of research now. so thanks for being patient and hope i dont ask too many questions.
     
  8. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    ok ocnbrze ill try it and get back to you guys. thanks!
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    asking questions is the only way to learn. and it is better to ask questions then to brick your phone. so do not worry about too many questions. there is just no such thing in my book. glad your doing reasearch on it.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  10. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Ok got the kernel installed and setcpu is running! what is the best scale to use? Thanks guys.
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    im trying the interactive x governor right now. and so far so good. i got 16 hours off charge with light to moderate usage today. need to test it some more tomorrow. not exactly sure what interactive x governor does yet. need to look into it.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  12. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Ok. is it ok to overclock and use 4g? i do have chopsuey btw so thanks for that...
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    sure why not. just keep in mind that the faster you set the cpu to run the more battery will drain. and the same goes for 4g as well.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  14. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Ok great i got one more question if you dont mind. if im not worried about battery drainage is it ok to leave it on max all the time. Or do i wanna give my phone a break?
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    should be fine. i also have a screen off profile of 128/245. really helps with battery life as well. for some though it can make your phone sluggish as it wakes up, but for me i have not experienced it yet.
     
    dsuther13 likes this.
  16. dsuther13

    dsuther13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    thanks so much! i would still be unrooted and no custom anything if it wasnt for you and this forum! thanks for all the guides theyre super easy to follow. Keep up the good work and ill get with ya if i have any new questions thanks again!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  17. naza

    naza Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    6
    2
    6
    Hey guys, im running cm7 and just installed chopsuey kernel. Everything loads up fine but my touch screen does not work anymore.

    Thoughts??

    Thanks! naz
     
  18. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    You flashed a Sense kernel, the kernel is for a Sense rom.

    You MUST flash an AOSP kernel for an AOSP rom.
     
    naza likes this.
  19. naza

    naza Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    6
    2
    6
    Thank you sir!! I did recovery and downloaded the right kernel, BAM! Is working flawlessly!! :D
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you should try tiamat sbc kernels. they are amazing.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...