1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Phone Frozen after Restore

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by clfblackhawk, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. clfblackhawk

    clfblackhawk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    Full Time Student at UNLV
    Las Vegas
    So i restored my phone to a previous nandroid backup and when i went to boot my phone, its now stuck at the boot screen.... So I rebooted it back into recovery, and tried restoring a backup i know works, but same thing again. How does this happen?!? I did change the folder names that the backups were in so I didn't get confused, for example one I named one Fresh 1.1 w/ gumbo, etc. Could this corrupt the backup and if so is there anyway for me to restore the previous folder name to fix this..?
     

    Advertisement

  2. showbo

    showbo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    147
    24
    38
    Network Technician
    New Mexico
    Ok, kinda ran into this myself.

    This is what I did, and you should try.

    Boot into recover, create a new backup.

    After that backup is created, mount your SD to your computer.

    NOW, in that new backup folder, it should be HTCxxxxxx or something along those lines, and take a previous good known backup, and go into the subfolder, and copy the BDS-XX-XXX or whatever it says, into the subfolder of the HTCXXXXX backup. NOW, unmount your SD and go to try and restore.

    See if that works, if you have any issues, post back up or send me a private message. Goodluck.


    Oscar
     
    clfblackhawk likes this.
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Something else to keep in mind with backups...

    Do NOT use spaces in the name, it causes errors/issues.
     
  4. showbo

    showbo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    147
    24
    38
    Network Technician
    New Mexico
    Amen, but at what point?

    I know for a fact if you rename the HTCxxxxx main folder, it will not work.

    Are you talking about the subfolder within the HTCxxxx? Or both ways?
     
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    I have never renamed mine. However, to be safe, if you rename, no matter what it is you are renaming, I would not use spaces. If you feel the need to, I guess you could use underscores instead.

    Fresh_Backup or Damage_Control_Backup
     
    clfblackhawk likes this.
  6. clfblackhawk

    clfblackhawk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    Full Time Student at UNLV
    Las Vegas
    Thanks for the replies everyone! Im currently at school so when i get home ill see if these work, i pretty much had to totally reconfigure everything on my phone which was pretty annoying and ive lost all of my back ups. Ill post later if anything works.

    Thanks,
    Cory
     
  7. clfblackhawk

    clfblackhawk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    Full Time Student at UNLV
    Las Vegas
    ok so i had the subfolder renamed, the BCDMRS-date-time folder renamed... so i just renamed all of them with dates that made sense to me in the order I backed them up instead of having them named Fresh Backup, etc and BAM! It works! Thanks for the help, moral of the story is dont rename your backups.....

    Cory
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...