1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Phone won't connect to PC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MattJames, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    When I plug my HTC Hero (UK) into my laptop, it used to in the notifications bar offer me Mount SD Card (or something similar) and connect to HTC Sync. Now when I plug it in, all it does is charge the phone with neither of those things being offered. Can anyone tell me why my phone is doing this and how to rectify it? I don't want to do a hard reset as all my contacts are on my phone and sync, and if that doesnt solve the issue, then I wont be able to pull my contacts back onto the phone.

    My PC also comes up with USB Device Not Recognised and says it is an unknown device. I'm not great with computers so I dont know if that's relevant or if it helps. Hope someone can help :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Go here to download the Android SDK.

    Unzip. Go to the directory you unzipped, run setup.exe. The rest is self-explanatory; download the "usb driver package" usually listed at the bottom. Then go to device manager, right-click properties -> driver tab -> update drivers, and point it to the folder where the USB drivers downloaded to.
     
  3. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you! Is this a quite common problem then? I'll let you know how I get on :)
     
  4. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    ok I don't think it has worked, it comes up with " The best driver software for your device is already installed" but still won't give me any options in the notification bar for mounting or htc syncing?
     
  5. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Have you tried enabling USB debugging? Not sure about Android 1.5, but it should be an option buried somewhere in settings.
     
  6. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    yer I've turned that on and it doesn't do anything. It's just weird because the PC (Vista) definitely knows theres something there because it charges, just says "the device has malfunctioned and Windows does not recognise it."
     
  7. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Turns out the phone has been water damaged somehow! How much will it cost to send it to HTC and for them to repair it?
     
  8. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Might be quite a bit, since warranty doesn't cover water damage.
     
  9. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    are we talking
     
  10. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Uhh, you'll have to contact your local HTC branch for that.
     
  11. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
  12. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
  13. MattJames

    MattJames Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    update: turns out my dad opened it up today and both the headphone socket and usb plug just had some dust in them or something.
     
  14. amnesia

    amnesia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    IT Manager
    Bournemouth, UK
    I have just had this EXACT same problem - I was using a 'generic' usb cable from work which caused the problem. Just reconnected with the proper HTC usb cable and it works perfectly... got the notification on the phone, and in Windoze.
     
  15. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    HTC phones with ExtUSB are fully compatible with 'generic' miniUSB. It could have been a dud cable but did you by any chance stick the other (ExtUSB) cable in a different USB port? This very often sorts out USB connectivity issues on Windows because of the tacky way Windows handles drivers. By using another port you are forcing Windows to re-check the drivers.
     
  16. amnesia

    amnesia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    IT Manager
    Bournemouth, UK
    No it was a weird cable that has metal shielding around it. It works fine with my printer, but not my DSLR (or Hero, apparently).

    Bizarre.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...