1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Poor 4G Results

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdjmad, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. jdjmad

    jdjmad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Contracts Administrator with an Engineering Degree
    Houston, TX
    Anyone else in the 4G areas receiving poor download speeds? I have run the speedtest app on multiple occasions and in different areas of Houston and my usual results are 800kb/s download and 1.1 mb/s upload. Only one time did I crack the 1 mb/s download speed and it was by a large margin (2.7 mb/s).

    Is anyone else seeing these kind of results?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rtmeikle

    rtmeikle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    109
    4
    36
    I'm in Nashville (not officially a 4g city yet, but it is on and with pretty wide coverage) and usually get above 2mbps but below 2.5mbps down.
     
  3. eieio

    eieio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,065
    823
    213
    Going where others are afraid to
    Bat Cave
    speed test do not work well with wimax.
     
  4. B-Ran

    B-Ran Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    62
    81
    33
    sounds interesting, I'd like to know a little more about this. I get poor to fair results on 4G at home, but I'm on the outter edge of my 4G market. When I'm in other parts of my 4G zone I get better results. I've gotten anywhere from 1.5-4.5 dl and consistant 1 ul speeds. I test my wifi using the speed test app and I get about 10 dl and .5 ul.
     
  5. jdjmad

    jdjmad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Contracts Administrator with an Engineering Degree
    Houston, TX
    What is the best way to accurately get upload/download speeds on wimax?
     
  6. eieio

    eieio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,065
    823
    213
    Going where others are afraid to
    Bat Cave

    Reception aside..

    Most speed test are based on your location/ip address. Wimax/celluar ip are less static than land lines so most wireless IP address aren't local (yet)..

    So lets say your in NY but your IP address comes up as Philly to the test server. Your sent to that server for testing.. If you chose your local server it then routes you over a greater distance, Its just how the networks work.

    Also there are 1000's of people pinging that server so the test speeds will vary because of that.

    A true test would be to download a large file and compare the down load times, between your 3g, wimax and wifi connection..
     
    B-Ran likes this.
  7. B-Ran

    B-Ran Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    62
    81
    33
    Makes sense. Thanks eieio.
     
  8. eieio

    eieio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,065
    823
    213
    Going where others are afraid to
    Bat Cave
    also Clear has a 4 down 1 up soft cap on its subs..

    Your EVOs as a phone will get 4 down and 1 up..

    As a modem it is capped at 6 down and 1 up.


    You can and will see speeds above this but these are the average range for now
     
    B-Ran likes this.
  9. stevenw00

    stevenw00 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    62
    6
    16
    Mech. Designer
    Raleigh, NC
    In Cary, NC I am getting 2.77 down and 1.01 up.
     
  10. crakkajakka15

    crakkajakka15 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    22
    0
    35
    just tested the 4G out here in Harrisburg PA got 3.7mbps down and 1mbps up over the air on 4G
     
  11. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    137
    18
    38
    Houston
    I am also in Houston. Very seldom can I even GET a 4G connection and when I do, even with 4 bars, its damn slow. WELL under 1Mbit. I have yet to successfully stream any video without stopping and rebuffer. I bought Slingplayer and its useless as the bandwidth is not there.

    Sprint sold us a bill of goods and advertised this phone for things it cannot do. Perhaps someday the network will improve but I have been saying that for years with 3G and never been happy with it. I took it to a Sprint service center to have them look at it and all they do is turn on the 4g widget and wait for the little 4g icon. Done, it works. Yeah right. Make it do something then they start with the excuses.....I WILL get the $10 premium data charge removed each month it does not work.
     
  12. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Having multiple DHCP address assignments vs. having a static IP is not going to have any effect on connection rates. Having a gateway or proxy server on Sprint's network which is farther away than where the person's phone is geographically located may add "some" latency to the equation, but should not effect DL speeds as much as having a poor 4G connection.

    I'm located in Maryland, and my T-Moblile proxy/gateway is somewhere near Philly, however my DL speeds are within 10% to Speedtest.net's Atlanta, DC, New York and Chicago servers. When I was using a different APN, the gateway/proxy was somewhere in Kansas...speedtests were within 20% to the same test servers. If I go 3 miles due north from my house, my DL speeds go from 900Kbs average to 7Mbs average, yet I have "full bars" 3G/3.5G in both locations.

    If this user is having poor 4G DL speeds (1Mbs or less), esp. with only 1-2 bars 4G, its more of an issue with his line of sight/distance to the Sprint tower, than Sprint's network infrastucture.
     
  13. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    4g, what's that. I am in Atlanta which as far as I know is one of the first 4th areas. I have only connected once and that was while I was driving. Speeds were great but sketchy at best. I am surrounded by 4g where I live and can't ever connect. I don't know if its the lake in my community causing problems. I don't know if its gsm or cdma that is affected by that.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...