1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question About New SD Card/Flashing Rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xkse, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction; I've searched and looked in other threads but haven't found anything useful.

    I am rooted (unrevoked) and just got a new SD card. I booted into recovery and formatted the sd card (I was trying to follow these instructions: How To: Switch to a Different MicroSD Card on Android (When Using Apps2SD) | TheUnlockr, but I am not using app2sd).

    After I formatted the sd card I put all of the data from my old one onto it.

    After wiping everything I then tried to flash a ROM; it keeps saying Keep getting Can't open..(bad)..Installation aborted.

    My question is do I have to do something further with my SD card? (format to FAT32/ext2/swap?) If so, how do I do this? Is it necessary I use app2sd or should this not be a problem. Or is there some other issue I'm missing?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    You don't need the apps2sd partition unless you "want" it, it's not required. Are you using the 3.*** version of clockwork?. It is not compatible with most roms available right now (not sure what error message you get). Or you have a corrupt download.
     
  3. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    I am running ClockworkMod 2.5.1.2.

    Tried to flash Incredible ReEngineered 2.3.1. Downloaded from multiple sources, tried re-naming to update.zip.. Got the same "Can't open..(bad)..Installation aborted."

    When I put in my new SD card I went into mounts and storage and hit 'format sdcard.' When I tried the option below it ('format sd-ext') it didn't work b/c there was no -ext partition. Anything else I should do after reformatting the new card and switching all the files over?
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    IR 2.3.1 is made specifically to work with CWM 3.x only. D/l 2.3 and you'll be good to go
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Also, you don't need to rename the ROM to update.zip. I saw another person in a different thread do this as well. AFAIK, you don't need to rename any zip file to update.zip when flashing through recovery
     
  6. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Thanks--I'll try this
     
  7. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Now running ClockworkMod 3.x (.0.0.2?)...tried to flash IR 2.3.1..got the same Can't open update.zip (bad)..Installation aborted.

    Should I try it through ROM Manager?
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    If the already sound advice still doesn't get it done, this also sounds like the fail message for an incomplete download. Check the file size of the hosted file vs. the file you ended up with and make sure they are the same...if not ditch it and download again. Ideally, also check the MD5 if it was posted. Can't go wrong then.
     
  9. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Sizes indeed match up; I am re-downloading again anyways. Not sure what the problem is. Thanks for the help
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Update.zip? Guess I missed that earlier. Are you renaming the Rom to update.zip? If so, don't do that. In any event, get the Rom onto the SD card and then use the option...install zip from SD card > choose zip from SD card, then choose the Rom...whatever it's name doesn't matter but it shouldn't be update.zip.

    Make sure you're not inadvertantly using the "apply update from SD card". That's a different animal.
     
  11. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Yep I have made sure I am not doing that; re-downloaded IR 2.3.1 and have tried flashing through recovery (apply update from SD card) and through ROM Manager. Both give the same message and the installation aborts.

    Also tried IR 2.3; same thing. Very frustrating...did a nandroid and titanium restore.

    This is with CWM 3.0.0.5.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Check out my last post again (post #10 of this thread). You are choosing the wrong Clockwork option IMO. I think this is where your problem lies. Use Clockwork and use the option install zip from SD card instead. Then choose your zip which will most likely be named whatever your Rom is called.

     
  13. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Sorry--I mistyped. When it was named update.zip I tried apply update from sdcard. After I re-downloaded I chose install zip from sdcard and chose the correct file. I will re-attempt tomorrow I guess, perhaps with a different ROM.

    Thanks for your help
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Sound good man, best of luck. I really dislike the "apply update from Sd card" option in Clockwork. In my mind this is an option that is designed for the stock recovery so one can use the update.zip option as a non-rooted user to leapfrog to a new Android version a little earlier than the average Joe ala the Froyo update.zip of 2010.

    I have no idea why they included this menu option in Clockwork since we, as rooted users, have the ability to load ANY compatible zip as a Rom regardless of file name. All it does is muddy the waters and worst yet, the "apply update" option appears first in the Clockwork menu which sets the stage for choosing the wrong option on regular occasion especially if you're not used to root and looking for the proper option. If anyone has an explanation for why this was done, please elaborate. I'm probably missing something but it makes little sense to me.
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Just curious, I saw you updated to the newest CWM and tried flashing IR 2.3.1 again. Did you try to flash 2.3 BEFORE you updated to the new CWM 3.X? IR 2.3 is an awesome ROM so I want to make sure you've tried everything before giving up on it and moving to something else.
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    in case you missed it in the other thread... flash the alternate recovery and use that to install your rom.

    i kept getting the same error message and another coincidence is that i just formatted my SD card also.

    i dont know if we goofed somethin up with the formatting,or its a clockwork incompatibility,but flashing with RA_inc worked for me.
     
  17. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    WormDoes- I did not try flashing IR 2.3 w/ the earlier version of CWM.

    scotty85- Thanks for the tip; I'll try that! Is the easiest way to flash the alternate recovery to use ROM Manager?
     
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yup! thats what i did. prior to doing it, push the menu softkey,then settings,and make sure "erase recovery" is checked.
     
    xkse likes this.
  19. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    If it still doesn't work on the newest CWM, I'd suggest going back to the old version and try to flash 2.3
     
  20. xkse

    xkse Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    scotty85--Tried flashing with alternate recovery RA_gnm...no luck.

    I will try using an earlier version of CWM with IR 2.3..... AHHH!
     
  21. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    124
    2
    36
    Med Student
    Tennessee
    Having this same problem with multiple ROMs, was there ever a solution? I also recently formatted my sd card in windows fat32. I have no clue what to do next. I have only tried CWM 2.5xxx and hboot .92. Trying to flash IR v2.3 or v2.4 or skyraider 3.5, all get the same error. I have flashed heyitslou kernel however with no problem.

    Any ideas?
     
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i like to use RA_GNM when i can,but for the most part if CWM 2.5.x.x or RA_GNM wont work,then use clockwork 3.0.0.8
     
  23. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    124
    2
    36
    Med Student
    Tennessee
    I'm sure this is a silly questions, but i'm a noob at all this.... If I upgrade to CWM 3.xxxx the previous backups will still work right? :eek:
     
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    The latest,3.0.0.8 will. Other 3.x versions may not.
     
  25. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    124
    2
    36
    Med Student
    Tennessee
    Can I install RA_GNM through CWM? Or do I have to get ROM manager?
     

Share This Page

Loading...