1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root question on sbf for GB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by OnaDroidXhigh, May 29, 2011.

  1. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Hey everyone,

    This may be a dumb question but I would like to see the reasons why. Everyone is stating you need to SBF back to stock .340 froyo then go to GB. I was wondering why can't maderstock be used since its and sbf file turned into a zip file for doing the same exact thing as a SBF file would (going completely back to stock).I am not talking about using a leaked GB I want to know if this will set me up for using TBH's files to get to GB.596
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    It doesn't make sense to me either. But a lot of people were having problems when going from a froyo rom --> maderstock --> GB leak. I would assume you would have the same problems everyone else is having when going to OTA. But look at it like this. You could try it and save yourself the SBF step if it does work. Or if it doesn't you will have to SBF anyway.
     
  3. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    well knock on wood I never had to sbf before and I really dont want to to just go to gb since the X is running fine. I may just do it and get over it. still thinking about it.
     
  4. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    everyone has had NOTHING but problems...every single person i know of that has used maderstcok to move to Gingerbread has had problems and needed to SBF anyway...
     
  5. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    What's there to think about!?!:p GB >>> Froyo. SBF’ing the Droid X U D G

    That link is the end all solution with instructions and files for SBF'ing your phone. Which operating software do you have on your comp? Windows, OS X, or Linux?
     
  6. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36
  7. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    I read that when preforming the 3 file install to .588 or the 2 file install to .596 the starting firmware/system apps/boot img/radio has to be exact .340 or the process will derive errors. Maderstock does not revert to complete stock.
     
  8. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    Win XP works flawlessly on this application. Do you have all the stuff for SBF?
     
  9. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    thanks for that piece of the answer. I was looking for this. Now I now for sure I need to sbf back to stock to move forward. thanks again
     
  10. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36

    I have the drivers installed, the full sbf file, and rsd lite 4.8 and 4.9. anything you think I am missing
     
  11. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    just the SBF file, and that's easy enough to get.
    n/m, just re-read your post. you should be good to go
     
  12. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    do you have the device set in SBF mode?
    you're in GB, right? So you need to turn off your device, press the up and down keys for volume at the same time, and then push power. Hold all three until the screen flashes, you can let go and you will see:

    Bootloader
    30.XX


    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    connect USB
    Data Cable

    Then you can attach the device to the computer via USB cable and start RSD lite.
     
  13. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Isn't it volume buttons + camera button + pwr?
     
  14. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    nope, but it won't change the way it works.
    all you need is up-down-power (that didn't sound right...)
    I always check before I post on those things, since they change so often. This worked on mine, and I'm on GB, must be right...
     
  15. Helicrewchief

    Helicrewchief Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    191
    31
    43
    Blackhawk Crewchief
    North Carolina
    Good luck! I just did my first SBF after trying to install gingerbread over maderstock and it bricked my phone. Google became my bestfriend!
     
  16. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    There have been many posts telling people they should NOT try to install GB over Maderscok, why you would do it, (or try to) is beyond my comprehension.
    Cool down, Bugly, it'll be OK...
    SBF back to .340, then load GB from one of the options TBH gave. Easy enough, there are NO shortcuts, you are NOT the one guy that will get it to go without following the proper steps.
    Wait, Bugly, you're getting heated again...
    Seriously, just follow the steps given and it will work.
     
  17. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Make sure you have a full batt prior to starting the SBF'ing process..
     
    Bugly likes this.
  18. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    That's a really good piece of information^^^
     
  19. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I wonder if Moto changed this since the X2 doesn't have a camera button. .
     
  20. Helicrewchief

    Helicrewchief Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    191
    31
    43
    Blackhawk Crewchief
    North Carolina
    For me I was trying to take the easy way out without having to mess with my crappy computer and SBF'ing. I have tried to SBF once before and had nothing but problems with my computer and getting the drivers, RSD lite, and the phone to work. I honestly didn't see anything about not installing over maderstock. I actually did see a post where somebody "guess" it would be ok. But I learned the hard way and had to deal with my issues and get the SBF to work.
     
  21. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    Sorry, I was kinda abrupt on that, but I've been fielding that same comment all day on this and other forums. The only way to get it done smoothly is to SBF to stock, or "upgrade" from another GB.
     
  22. Helicrewchief

    Helicrewchief Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    191
    31
    43
    Blackhawk Crewchief
    North Carolina
    No issues. Just felt like I had to explain myself.
     
  23. OnaDroidXhigh

    OnaDroidXhigh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Bugly,

    I am still on froyo running apex 1.4.1. looking to choose the correct upgrade path to get to rooted .596.
     
  24. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    sorry, man, you're gonna have to SBF from Apex. There is no way I know of to go straight from apex to GB. If I'm wrong, I'm wrong, just haven't seen it yet
     
  25. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    596 is a system only update so needs a very clean froyo to update.

    I had to format data after sbf'ing to froyo (from 573) just to get it to boot. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...