1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Questions about 2-part rooted Gingerbread .596.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SLR 722, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. SLR 722

    SLR 722 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    69
    3
    36
    I had recently flashed the 2-part rooted Gingerbread .596 update and would like to ask a few questions regarding the rooted 2.3.

    I had successfully flashed the 2 zip files using Droid X Bootstrap with USB debugging checked. So far, I have not noticed anything wrong since flashing 2.3. Should I expect any errors or problems?

    Will I need Droid 2 Bootstrap to make nandroid backups and flash custom ROM's? If I attempted to do these using DX Bootstrap, will that cause problems? Have not made a backup since flashing .596 and would like some clarification.

    From what I have heard, if I flash a ROM and wish to return to stock rooted .596, I would have to SBF back to stock FroYo .340 and flash the 2 zip files. Is that correct?
     

    Advertisement

  2. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    use droid2 bootstrap just to be safe

    make a nandroid backup of .596 rooted it has to be STOCK .596 THOUGH..NOTHING MODDED ON IT.

    then if you want to go back to stock rooted just restore that.
     
  3. SLR 722

    SLR 722 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    69
    3
    36
    So should I SBF back to stock FroYo and reflash rooted .596 with D2 Bootstrap instead?

    Ok. But do I need to use DX Bootstrap or D2 Bootstrap to make nandroid backups?
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    use D2 from here on out. I wouldn't go back via SBF and start over unless you start having problems.
     
    SLR 722 likes this.
  5. Casemantwo

    Casemantwo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    75
    1
    16
    Wisconsin
    On droid 2 bootstrap. I made a back up in recovery and it just started to create the back up. (didnt ask for a name of the back up) I did this in froyo .340 or what ever. I didnt think anything of it.

    Now that I have parts 1+2 of ginger bread on I went to make another back up in the recovery and it just did the same thing (didnt ask for a name to save it under).

    Does it just save under the date I did it? Or did I lose my first backup?
     
  6. fonefreak

    fonefreak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    179
    25
    43
    North of the ecliptic
    I believe it incrementally saves. So your prior is still accessible.
     
  7. SLR 722

    SLR 722 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    69
    3
    36
    Another question about D2 Bootstrap. Would I need to uninstall DX Bootstrap first before installing D2 Bootstrap? And after installing D2 Bootstrap, keep USB debugging checked?
     
  8. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    No, I had both o my device for a long time, they run independently, so unless they are both in use at the same time, somehow, you're good.
     
    SLR 722 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...