1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [ROM] MTDEV-CM9 build 20130120 [BETA]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djboi2011, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. jamesd1085

    jamesd1085 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    151
    39
    43
    No...he was talking about posting the results of too much time at excessive clock speeds
     

    Advertisement

  2. fusionice

    fusionice Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    35
    0
    15
    Hey, awesome job on this, really!

    Been using this with default settings for about 2 weeks and here are the only problems I've found:

    - WiFi could use some improvement to stay connected, has problems using Groove IP (Google Voice Calling) for longer than 10 minutes, if I'm lucky, where I had no problems in that area with other ROMs.
    -Signal/3G is randomly lost at times, and not because of VM. Only way to get it back is to reboot.
    -Battery drain seems faster on the latest build compared to the previous one.

    If anyone has solutions to these, any help? But keep up the good work, waiting patiently for That Which Will Not Be Named ;)
     
  3. Motofrust

    Motofrust Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    88
    2
    36
    g60MADMAN,

    I have a question? You know I have replaced my phone and now I think the newer triumph has updated version and do I have to install 4v or 5v recovery mod in order to install any custom rom?
     
  4. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
  5. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    If you have a newer version of the MT, that would be interesting. Could you see what build version (I think) your phone is? It's listed under about phone
     
  6. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    Wow, that's not at all what I expected, but an interesting read none the less.

    So, to summarize, strange things happen to chips internally, at the atomic level, at a faster rate when operated beyond its design specifications, accelerating it's ultimate demise. :D
    Thanks for posting, Ryder.
     
  7. fusionice

    fusionice Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    35
    0
    15
    Sorry to quote but.. any insight?
     
  8. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    Yeah, it's obvious that electricity has "force" and much can do things that aren't expected.. Sooooo, takes it easy when overclocking.
     
    rcsrich likes this.
  9. rcsrich

    rcsrich Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012

    Jun 22, 2012
    772
    119
    93
    Proudly working for the Man since 2001
    Virginia, USA
    Definitely another factor to take into consideration when overclocking...good to know!
     
  10. jmulvay

    jmulvay Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    57
    12
    18
    Hello, Just wanted to say !!HI!!
    and chec
    more the merrier!!
    Well hi!
    MT Dev team
     
  11. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi :ciao: we are still here and still working
     
  12. pancakewagon

    pancakewagon Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    26
    3
    16
    I've been having a problem where when the screen shuts off and the phone locks I cant get the screen to come back on. If I push the side button on the phone nothing happens and I have to do a battery pull. The weird part is that it only happens sometimes during the day. I thought I fixed it by turning automatic brightness off but It's still doing it and I can't really use my phone at the moment even after restarting.
     
  13. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Full wipe, and dalvik and reload the ROM.
     
  14. kingstannis

    kingstannis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    23
    0
    15
    Get the camera working on this and I will download it that day! I look forward to doing that soon. Right now though I use the camera too much to capture family and spontaneous things. Just can't do without it.
     
  15. rcarter10

    rcarter10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    161
    27
    43
    I was running this when the camera looked close, then restored cm7 the other day. I couldn't stay back though, this is just too smooth so I'm ics'ing again.besides, who needs the camera in the winter
     
  16. borjis

    borjis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    120
    32
    43
    getting the camera working will be nothing short of a small miracle & reason for a huge celebration should it come to pass.

    G60 there was a dev working on HDMI earlier this year, late last year who was able
    to get it far enough to have a solid blue screen output to his tv. Have you gotten his notes from what he did? I think they were posted in this forum somewhere.
     
  17. ErroneousBosch

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    9
    12
    8
    So after two weeks of use, a couple of basic observations I wanted to put out there.

    First, browser syncing doesn't seem to work for me. It just gives an error ("Sync is experiencing problems. It will be back shortly.") whenever I try. Not sure if this is normal or just me. Everything else syncs fine, even chrome. :)

    Second, Battery life isn't great. I get about ~15-18 hours on my 2000mah extended battery, which is a lot less than I got under cm7 (which got me 36 hours or so). I am running Easy Battery Saver and keep wifi turned off pretty much always, and have it set to sync once an hour. Having autosync turned on or off doesn't seem to make any difference. I only use it lightly (check news, listen to music/audiobook on walk to work, check emails occasionally). I Use Smartassv2, and my max clock is 1.4ghz, min 61mhz, and I use the autobrightness. Anyone else noticing less battery life on this?
     
  18. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Browser sync works fine for me. May want to do a full wipe and dalvik.
     
  19. bray462

    bray462 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    46
    8
    16
    Texas
    My battery life on this ROM is much, much better than it is on CM7. I'm no expert on this stuff, so I have no idea why. Battery life seems to vary wildly from user to user no matter the ROM.
     
  20. DatNexus

    DatNexus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    19
    2
    16
    Male
    As to overclocking, I have been running my Triumph as a daily driver at 2.o Ghz without stability issues for about a month and a half now. Yes, I understand this is probably not necessary or good for the phone, but I'm not experiencing any issues so I'm not too worried. It does get a tiny bit toasty with the governor I'm using, smartassV2, and when I was using smoothass it would get quite warm, so I have since switched away from that. Just thought I would drop my experiences in this thread for any benefit they could bring. Also, g60madman, thank you so much for all the work you and your team put into this phone. I really can't thank you enough. Keep up the great work!
     
    dsmryder likes this.
  21. DatNexus

    DatNexus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    19
    2
    16
    Male



    I had that same issue until I took off all my battery saver programs that I used on froyo. I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but I seem to get the best battery life when I have no battery saving programs. I would suggest uninstalling easy battery saver and testing it out. Also, what you are seeing kinda seems like a wakelock issue. If uninstalling Easy Battery Saver does nothing, I would personally recommend getting BetterBatteryStats to find out what is keeping your phone from sleeping properly when not in use.
     
  22. mattbodin

    mattbodin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Aug 23, 2012
    113
    12
    38
    Texas
    i agree. battery life on cm7 is about an hour less than on cm9 under heavy use with the same apps installed. its about 5hrs on cm9 with a 2000mah battery.
     
  23. Roketteere

    Roketteere Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    41
    8
    36
    Male
    College Student
    Pembroke Pines
    Hey I can't do the ##VIRGIN# to setup my MDN and MIN.

    Is that disabled in CM?

    I need to program it since I just switched from my HTC V.

    Thanks
     
  24. ErroneousBosch

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    9
    12
    8
    Thanks for the advice, I will try removing the battery saver and see if that makes any difference.

    I did a full wipe when I installed, but will probably wait until the next release to do another. Browser sync would be nice, but it's not killer for me. Everything else works so well, I hardly notice it! :)
     
  25. Roketteere

    Roketteere Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    41
    8
    36
    Male
    College Student
    Pembroke Pines
    I even tried to install anycut to get into diag mode to write the MDN n MIN myself through workshop but there was no option to select the comport option.
     

Share This Page

Loading...