1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rooted app that shows your on hspa?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bbe1367, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. bbe1367

    bbe1367 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    ok, so i work at tmobile and some guy came in and told me that theres an app when you have a rooted vibrant that shows an "h" at the top where your connection shows when your runnin hspa, any idea what hes talkin about? ive looked and found nothing?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    230
    15
    58
    Reno, NV
    I have never heard of anything like that.
     
  3. spiz

    spiz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    920
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    920
    128
    93
    Redmond, OR
    I've never heard of anything like that either. HSPA+ is just a 3G tower on steroids, so I don't see how your phone would have any way of identifying the difference.
     
  4. PhxBlue

    PhxBlue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009

    May 12, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    My Nexus 1 would display an H once in a while on its own, so it is possible.
     
  5. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    471
    43
    43
    IT, Student
    Texas
    It depends on the phone if its going to show that, but its all 3g anyways. If you want to know, go to Phone Status, and below signal strength is what type of protocol its using. I've seen it flip between UMTS and HSDPA, though more often then not, its always UMTS for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...