1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Run S3 in charge without battery, possible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Crossxup, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Crossxup

    Crossxup Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012

    Sep 20, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Hello,

    Im using the North American S3. I had a GNex before from my work and I was able to remove the battery, plug the phone in, and turn on the phone without the battery installed.

    My implications for this would be to stream a sports game from my phone onto a tv, Id like to have the phone in the charge but the battery removed.

    Does anyone know of a way to make the S3 do this?

    Thanks all

    Sorry just realized wrong forum.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Maybe I'm missing something obvious, but what would be the advantage of having the battery out for that?
     
  3. Crossxup

    Crossxup Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012

    Sep 20, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Sorry guys, first post and I put it in the wrong forum :(
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I'll move it :)

    Welcome to the forums!!!!! :D
     
  5. Crossxup

    Crossxup Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012

    Sep 20, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    extend Battery life mostly
     
  6. ryancalif

    ryancalif Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012

    Sep 8, 2012
    93
    8
    16
    I don't believe it's possible. The phone runs exclusively on the battery, and the charger works only to charge the battery.
     
  7. Crossxup

    Crossxup Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012

    Sep 20, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    aawww, that's unfortunate.

    Thanks!
     
  8. mlblack16

    mlblack16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    140
    16
    38
    Columbus, OH
    Take the battery out and give it a whirl. I doubt it will work. Laptops will do this, but much more current runs through the motherboard than on our phone.
     
  9. p3dsp3ds

    p3dsp3ds Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016

    Jul 10, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male

Share This Page

Loading...