1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Screen problem

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by pewe, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. pewe

    pewe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    31
    3
    36
    A few weeks ago the screen on my phone suddenly became unresponsive BUT only in the bottom 1/4" or so.

    So although I could access most functions on the phone, I could not use it to dial out as the dial function was unresponsive.

    I rebooted the phone and it returned to normal.

    Yesterday the same thing happened, but this time I cannot sort the problem despite numerous re-boots and even a factory reset.

    Is this likely to be a screen issue, and if so anyone any thoughts on whether a new digitizer may cure the problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    The only way to diagnose that is to put a known-good digitizer in the phone and see what happens. That's why repair shops keep old working parts on hand.
     
  3. pewe

    pewe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    31
    3
    36
    Hmmmm... Unfortunately I don't have a spare screen, there are no repair shops close by and a replacement screen is $35+ and will take 2 weeks to get here.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    pewe and funkylogik like this.
  5. pewe

    pewe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    31
    3
    36
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Lust make a shortcut to it (icon) on your home screen and use that mate
     
    Thom likes this.
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    If that one doesn't work out there are other dialers there that you could try. This was the third one I tired for this. The first two put the buttons in the wrong place for you when in landscape. Just try some others if needed.

    ... Thom
     
  8. pewe

    pewe Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    31
    3
    36
    That one has placed all the buttons off the faulty area when in landscape (so far) so it's fine.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page

Loading...