1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Screen rotation on BB1.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jinnai, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. Jinnai

    Jinnai Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    59
    0
    15
    Odd question here..running BB1.1, but it doesn't allow the screen to rotate automatically, even though that option is turned on in the settings. I noticed Ultimate 3.7 does allow this, what other ROMs allow it? It's a minor feature, but one I like to have....
     

    Advertisement

  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #65
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    That feature can be turned on or off by the dev's...not the end user. Remember your stock rom that came with the droid? You couldn't see the home screen unless you opened the keyboard...same thing with Bugless. I like that feature as well but I can see why people don't like it too.
     
  3. Jinnai

    Jinnai Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    59
    0
    15
    Actually, on the stock ROM, it's a setting so that it "reads" the accelerometer and determines whether the screen should be in portrait or landscape mode (hit Settings in the Home Screen, under "sound & Display"). So I would guess it's a user-option that the dev can disable...just wondering what other ROMs the devs have decided to allow this. So far, I have one each way :D
     
  4. ssantan2

    ssantan2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    352
    20
    38
    people keep saying this is an option but I have not once seen it work for the home screen. I am almost positive that what that setting does is turn on or off orientation switching on all apps (even if the app has rotate checked) but has no bearing on the home screen. motorola even said the home screen isnt suppose to switch unless the keyboard is open
     
  5. Jinnai

    Jinnai Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    59
    0
    15
    Hmm...mine did originally, that was one of the first differences I noticed after loading a custom ROM....odd, ah well.
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    my home screen never switched before I rooted. The only rom I have used that did it was Droid Mod.
     

Share This Page

Loading...