• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Security on Android

I'm new to Android and have two questions concerning security:

1. Should I install an Antivirus program on my phone (like Norton, McAfee, etc)? If so, which is best?

2. Is it safer to use the Amazon App Store instead of the Android Market, since Amazon screens all the apps in its store and Google doesn't?

Thanks in advance for your input. :)

As far as I know, there isn't viruses on Android because it's Linux based.

I've used both the Android market and Amazon for apps. Both are fine as long as you check reviews and the access the apps get. Some say that Amazon apps don't update as quickly as on the regular market, but I haven't found that to be the case.

Quick searches will yield some great apps to start with.

Upvote 0
As far as I know, there isn't viruses on Android because it's Linux based.

Be careful with this generalization-
Linux has/can have viruses as well; they just will not be able to do very much because they will need authentication (root password) to have access (each time they try to access) anything not contained in the "Home" folder (i.e. music, photos, documents, etc). Android has an additional layer of security in that with a locked bootloader (if you unlock it on your Gnex to root/mod, I heavily recommend locking it back) the virus has limited access to your files (you would be getting a ton of permission-granting pop-ups, having a mal-ware app/script would be pretty obvious if it was trying to get to the system files and propagate itself) and can't flash/load its own system files over top of your system files (whether stock or a custom ROM).

Upvote 0
I'm new to Android and have two questions concerning security:

1. Should I install an Antivirus program on my phone (like Norton, McAfee, etc)? If so, which is best?