1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root System cache

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, May 30, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    My 40mb system cache is only showing 2.5mb free running miui Rom? I've used a cache cleaner, which says its cleared both internal and external caches but the figure in quick system info hasn't changed, and just lately when installing updates a lot of then fail because of low memory. Any tips anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    Cache cleaners typically don't clean the system cache.
    Go to Settings-Applications-Manage Applications, find Market and clear Data and cache. Reboot and check the info again.
     
  3. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    798
    130
    93
    UK
    That cache is used for downloading and flashing. It's not something you can use for apps.

    Unless its causing a problem, I'd leave it alone. I'm assuming Android looks after it all nicely by itself.
     
  4. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    did as you said and now its showing 6.75 mb free, is there any way to see whats using the cache, its seems 33mb is quite alot to be using the cache,
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,674
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,674
    19,061
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    root explorer?
     
  6. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    i use android mate, what am i looking for? i went into system but couldnt see what i was looking for, nothing there called cache.
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Cache is mainly downloads from the market. What should happen is it will fill with .apk files downloaded and the will drop off the end as you download more so it will never be clear.

    Try and download a large app larger that the free space (cordy, angry birds etc).

    If it downloads fine, theres nothing to worry about - forget it.

    If not, come back to me.
     
  8. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    also, dont know if its a miui thing but nearly everytime i update apps it always saying failed due to low memory.
    heres what quick system info shows....
    [​IMG]
    any ideas?
     
  9. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    just tried to download twicca which is only 2.35 mb but that failed?

    EDIT: just tried again after powering off and back on and it worked? but its happening all the time.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,674
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,674
    19,061
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Root Explorer is an android app. /cache is a top level directory - it's not under /system.

    A terminal emulator will do as well (or adb shell):

    ls -l /cache

    will show you what files and directories are in there.

    du -h /cache
    du -hs /cache/*

    will show you the disk usage (du) for /cache and for the directories within it (you already know it's full, but the second will show you which directories have most in them).
     
  11. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    found cache, the downloads part of it seems full. is it safe to delete everything in it?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    sounds like miui us bgged and its not auto clearing cache but will delete on reboot.

    also i notice in that screenshot that you have loads of a2sd space and none of it is used but yet have used loads of internal space.

    did you use a2sd cachesd ?
    also
    make sure you do not move apps to sdcard and only install them to internal otherwise a2sd is not working properly
     
  14. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    deleted the files in cache downloads folder and now i have 37mb free! ill try running a2sd cachesd again and see if that helps, i will also keep an eye on the size to see if it continues to go down. thanks for the help guys!! once again.

    lots of love

    talula!! x x
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It will continue to go down.
     
  16. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    any idea how to stop it?
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It goes down every time you download from the market. It should automatically clear but maybe its an issue with the script in redux? Not sure on that one. redux has a script "06mountdl" that looks to see how big your cache partition is. If the app youre downloading is bigger than the cahce partition, it downloads it to /data instead of /cache

    If you're S-off you could change the partition sizes so that its so small it always goes to /data/local/download

    I have a script that runs at boot (and a shortcut to it on my desktop via script manager)

    Code (Text):
    1. rm /data/local/download/*
    I suppose you could also:

    Code (Text):
    1. rm /data/download/*
    and call it something like "98cacheclear" and put it in init.d

    If you create it using an app called "script manager" you can also set it onto your desktop as a shortcut or to run on network state change
     
  18. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    I assume you are using MIUI, although your sig says Redux.
    Perhaps, it is best to ask this question among that ROM users (XDA?) to check if it is not a ROM bug.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ah hadn't noticed that. Good point. Update your Sig!!!

    Forget what I said about 06mountdl then.

    The scripts should still work though.
     
    GrenW likes this.
  20. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    sorry guys my bad, yeah im on miui at the min, i will have a peek at xda and see what they say! cheers.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...