1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Tell us if you got your ICS update and how do you like it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xmr405o, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    Ha ha. You guys are awesome staying up like that. :) Tried this AM both OTA and PC. No luck yet.
     

    Advertisement

  2. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    i work over night :p
     
  3. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    126
    3
    36
    Nothing as of 8:50 am EST
     
  4. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Will being rooted cause issues getting the upgrade?
     
  5. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    On my other devices I haven't had issues with rooting not letting you upgrade . only time I had an issue was when I had flashed a different Rom or deleted system applications but as far as root on a lucid doubt know if it will mess it up or not
     
  6. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    126
    3
    36
    I returned to stock just in case because when I was rooted I kept getting fc's when I tried checking the update
     
  7. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    after un rooting do you still get the force closes?? i have my lucid rooted and i havent got any force closes when checking for update. if i need to i will unroot cause the upgrade will break root anyway if it does take it
     
  8. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    well you said returned to stock did you have a custom rom on your phone??
     
  9. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Yeah I've had lots of other Android devices that never caused issues with root... But never an LG...
     
  10. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    i had an lg thrill but never got an update before i got rid of it
     
  11. dty06

    dty06 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm still getting nothing. Almost noon EST. Neither the phone's check for updates nor the PC software are finding any update. I *am* rooted, dunno if that matters though.
     
  12. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    I don't think it would with at least showing an update available but they said today but that could be anytime today when they put out the date for my soon its upgrade awhile ago the update actually took a week to get to everyone but it start rolling out on the day they said it would I had to end up manually installing it from a image of it wa put online
     
  13. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    Just received a e-mail notification of a post on the LG support site. Person says that the ICS update will actually consist of two separate updates - FWIW.
     
  14. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    BOOM! Just forced an OTA and I have my first Software Update!

    Let's hope rooting doesn't blow it up. :D
     
  15. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    Grrr. Looks like the root or CWM might be killing the update. Ran the first update and rebooted, but phone just shut off. Powered back on and got the android screen with the bar going across the bottom, but the update failed. Rebooting now to see what's up.

    Yep. Software update failed. I'll need to unroot methinks.

    UPDATE: Download with LG software is working now. I'll try that before unrooting. Will lose some data, but I've done that enough before. :)
     
  16. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    Just got mine its going.to install now
     
  17. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
  18. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    126
    3
    36
    I just refreshed and got a 5.7mb download?? Anyone else get this
     
  19. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    I'm trying Gingerbreak to unroot, since the download was going slow. :)

    Edit: Gingerbreak didn't work, but luckily I still have the unroot tool (Based off the spectrum) to use. Trying that now.
     
  20. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    yeah i got an error on the ota im doing it with the computer now downloaded the software and i have 7 minutes left so hopefully that works
     
  21. cpupeli1

    cpupeli1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    126
    3
    36
    Downloading a 384mb file now crossing my fingers for ICS
     
  22. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Mine failed (5mb) so I defrosted all the shit I froze and it still froze... Think maybe a factory reset?
     
  23. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    mines working i got it with the vzw upgrade tool

    **i was rooted**
     
  24. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Upgrade tool?
     
  25. xxwhynotxx

    xxwhynotxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    272
    3
    36
    I just tried the 5.7, seems like maybe not the right thing to do? We'll see, installing now.

    Also, if you update with the update tool on the computer, doesn't it erase everything, as well as make it so you can't hard reset back to gingerbread, in case this update has terrible problems or something?
     

Share This Page

Loading...