• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Unroot Galaxy S8

PSaLeao

Lurker
Mar 29, 2022
Good Afternoon,

I rooted my galaxy S8 (SM-G950FD) bought in the United Arab Emirates few years ago. Turns out, nowadays a lot of apps won't work because of it including some pretty important ones.

Can someone guide me through the unrooting process? Careful with the jargon, I am a noob.

thanks a lot

1) Back up any important data

2) Download the official firmware for your phone. You can find this at sammobile.com, where you will also find instructions for installing it (you'll need a computer). Follow those instructions and flash the phone with new firmware.

3) If the reflashing wiped the phone restore your data from the backup you took at the start (I've never reflashed a Samsung but with many manufacturers this process also resets the phone, so best to back up first).

Reflashing the phone will overwrite the rooted operating system, and hence unroot the phone. This is the cleanest and most reliable way, and will work however you rooted it.

Reactions: ocnbrze
Upvote 0
2) Download the official firmware for your phone. You can find this at sammobile.com, where you will also find instructions for installing it (you'll need a computer). Follow those instructions and flash the phone with new firmware.

First of all, thank you so much.

I looked for the firmware at sammobile.com and found out two country codes for United Arab Emirates (LYS and XSG), how do I know which belongs to my phone?

Thank you

Upvote 0
Just to confirm, if you go into the Settings >> About phone menu, it's a 'clean' install yes? (.... as in no indications it's still rooted)

Are there a sizable number of apps that still indicate your phone is rooted, or just two or three or whatever?