• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Using gloves with the Eris

I live in upstate NY where it's been COLD lately. While walking the dog I thought I'd try out some location apps. To my surprise my Eris wouldn't register my touch while where gloves. Now I wasn't wearing mittens or big fat snow gloves but they were not tight gloves either.
Has anyone else had this problem?

I'm new to having a smartphone & touch screen so thanks for the help in advance!

I live in upstate NY where it's been COLD lately. While walking the dog I thought I'd try out some location apps. To my surprise my Eris wouldn't register my touch while where gloves. Now I wasn't wearing mittens or big fat snow gloves but they were not tight gloves either.
Has anyone else had this problem?

I'm new to having a smartphone & touch screen so thanks for the help in advance!

The touch screen is capacitive, which means that it functions by electrical current. If you are wearing gloves, you are insulating the screen from the current in your fingers.

From Wikipedia:

Wikipedia said:
A capacitive touchscreen panel consists of an insulator such as glass, coated with a transparent conductor such as indium tin oxide (ITO).[2][3] As the human body is also a conductor, touching the surface of the screen results in a distortion of the local electrostatic field, measurable as a change in capacitance. Different technologies may be used to determine the location of the touch. The location can be passed to a computer running a software application which will calculate how the user's touch relates to the computer software.

Projected capacitance