• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Using the phone as a Pager?

EMSguy

Jan 9, 2010
Hey guys, so I'm not really a tech guy, so this may seem like a really stupid question to those of you that are. I work part time as an EMT, but unfortunately there's a pager shortage so mine often ends up being lent out. I would love it if there was a way to turn my Droid into a pager!
BTW, if this helps, the pager that we normally work with is the Motorola Minitor.

I think if they just press 5 it sends you the number the person puts in. Only difference is they have to wait for it to ring to go to voicemail and then press 5 and the number to call back.

but if your work is doing the paging you can set it up to receive calls from that number and automatically forward to voicemail so they can just press 5 and bam it's done.

Upvote 0
What he's looking for is to get the fire/ems frequency so he can listen for calls, as if it were a radio or voice pager.

The dispatch center sends out a series of tones that open and alert the pager, then it begins receiving the radio signal with the voice traffic.

Since the phone is not set up to scan these frequencies, I don't think this could be done. However, if you could get the dispatch center to broadcast their traffic over a website as well, maybe you could leave it active in your browser, much like on firehouse.com.

Good luck.

Upvote 0
What he's looking for is to get the fire/ems frequency so he can listen for calls, as if it were a radio or voice pager.

The dispatch center sends out a series of tones that open and alert the pager, then it begins receiving the radio signal with the voice traffic.

Since the phone is not set up to scan these frequencies, I don't think this could be done. However, if you could get the dispatch center to broadcast their traffic over a website as well, maybe you could leave it active in your browser, much like on firehouse.com.

Good luck.