• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Vibrate Mode

So I am fairly new to Android and to my Captivate. I'm coming from BlackBerry, which made profiles pretty easy and very accessible. Here is my question:

I see that you can quickly put the Captivate into silent mode. There are several ways to do this, no problem. But, I would like to have the option to put my phone into vibrate mode as well. Now, if I go into Sounds under Settings, I see Vibrate is part of the options there. But, herein lies the issue. The options for vibrate seem great:

• Always
  • Never
  • Only in Silent Mode
  • Never in Silent mode

Now, the issue for me is, when my wife goes to bed and I'm still up, I always like to put my phone on vibrate. So no sounds to wake her up, but vibration so I know I received a message, whatever. This is where the Vibrate Only in Silent Mode seems to be great. Problem is, when I go to bed, I put my phone on my night stand, plug it in and leave it on silent mode. I don't want to be woken up.

So vibrate isn't going to work in this case. I would have to go in and change that setting every night. It would seem, my two options are to change the vibrate setting when I go to bed every night or power off the phone entirely when I go to bed (which I would prefer not to do as I also use it as a clock in the middle of the night sometimes).

Am I missing something or is what I want, simply not capable of happening? :thinking:

Download the app "Simple Sound Profile Manager". This application is a widget, so once installed put a copy of the icon on your home screen. This application will allow you to create "profiles", similar to the ones you are used to coming from a Blackberry.