• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What is keeping retailers from making apps?

it is EXTREMELY hard to perfect an app when you have all the different builds and devices to contend with...

I'm sorry but this is just a fallacy. It's a minor annoyance at worst.

Don't get me wrong, as a developer myself (though not for Android) I appreciate the extra work developers do to make sure they are covered on all platforms, but to say this is extremely hard is laughable. There's not some cadre of companies out there who are sitting around wishing they could develop for Android but holding back because it's "too hard" or has "too many versions"

Hell the iPhone has, what, like 4 versions? 1/2/3/3GS?

The only reason you don't see more companies developing for Android is very simple. Market share. That's it. And now as Android is picking up steam you will see a tons more apps coming down the pipe. Almost all the major iphone apps have Android equivalents now.

Last.fm
Pandora
Slacker
Bank of America
NBA
The Weather Channel
Shazam
PicSay
My Space
Friendster

Just to name a few off of the top of my head.

Upvote 0
a lot of the iphone apps are just stupid flashy apps.

i mean come on, how many "flashlight" apps or "noise" apps are there on the app store, probably like a bajillion. things like UPS or fedex is nice, very easy and saves you some time by opening the web browser. would be good to see those style apps on android.

i really want chipotle to make an android app lol.. im always in class and use my friends iphone to place an order. leave class a little early and get myself a tasty burrito

Upvote 0