• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What should I consider before starting bigger project? Tips/tools/techniques etc.

horacy

Lurker
May 13, 2018
Hello, I'm planning to start a new bigger project for a leraning purpose. I have some knowledge about Android programming, but I still consider myself as a beginner.

I don't have a whole image of the new project, I expect I'll be adding new features on the fly, because I can't predict everything before I have a basic functionality.

So I came up with an idea of making a sport/activity tracking app. The app will be very similar to Strava/Endomondo with some additional features and will lack some of them. So I am going to use geolocation API and some cloud database. The users will have a possibility to share they achivevments etc. Maybe I'll add something like nearby events for runners etc.

But I want to do it in the right, proper way. What does it mean? I want to plan, consider as much as I can before implementing. So I'm asking you, what will you recommend me? I mean it can be anything. Maybe what database will be good for that? Or some handy design pattern, or some API's, libraries etc. Should I use REST? Even though I may not use all of it, but hey, I want to be aware if something exists, maybe I will use it in the future. Learning is good.

The only thing I am sure about is that I am going to use Kotlin instead of Java. I've never been doing anything with Kotlin, but it's my decision to learn it.

I expect some nice discussion. Thank you.

Hm, can I ask why you're choosing Kotlin? I wouldn't expect much discussion here if you choose that language. I myself am a Java fan, and I don't really have any desire to learn an alternative programming language for Android development, when Java does such a great job. I might get around to learning it at some point I guess.