1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Will this 2.1 force update work?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Enygma, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. Enygma

    Enygma Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    53
    3
    16
    Force update Motorola Droid manually to Android 2.1 OS

    I just happened to come across this while browsing for wallpapers. I'm not sure if it will work for GSM Milestones and I'm really not sure if it will get rid of 3g access.

    From what I read this isn't anything to do with rooting. It' just the OTA update repackaged to a zip file.

    Sorry I would try this but I'm not very good when it comes to this kind of stuff. I know I could get the update on to the phone, but if my 3g and other stuff stopped working I dunno how I would get back to Telus 2.01 as there's no way(as far as I know)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    DO NOT LOAD THE DROID UPDATE ON THE MILESTONE! It will cause your Milestone to stop functioning as a cell phone, as the droid and the milestone have different radios in them for the different frequencies/technologies they use. I just updated my Telus Milestone to the THAI 2.1 floating around, and that one will work fine on mine since the THAI version uses the same radio/frequencies as Telus would.
     
  3. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Does the Thai version have the standard English locale and language pack? Also, does that version have any customizations or brandings, or is it a pure version of AOS 2.1? I don't want carrier customized crap on my phone :(

    I didn't think Thailand runs their 3G on the UMTS 850/1900 bands!

    One last thing... People have been saying the 2.1 OTA update for Telus Milestone's is crippled compared to what other handsets get in the full 2.1 update. Does installing the Thai FW give you all that 2.1 has to offer?
     
  4. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    No, the Thai 2.1 is literally the same in features as Telus 2.1 and has English locale. And it must have had 850/1900, (I think) as it worked just as if I had 2.0-1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...