• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

xScope Browser Lite (free): A swipe in the right direction

pundroid

Lurker
Jun 7, 2010
Note: I'm far from an expert on everything, including browsers. This is all novice opinion here. If you want an expert's opinion, look to your left (note: I am not an expert on the location of experts).

That stock browser (the one that came with your phone) sure is good, ain't it?

But most of the people who use Android are inherently explorative. Sure, the stock browser runs fine. But no tabs? Mobile sites? Bland design (at least, to me it's bland)? I got bored with it pretty quickly. So I hit the Android market in search of something more.

There are a ton of great browsers out there. But what about itty-bitty xScope?

Some reviewer info:

Tech expertise: some computer know-how (holds dreaded title of "tech guy" in the family)
Phone used: Motorola Droid running stock 2.1
Reason for not having a rooted phone: on the fence (but leaning towards rooting)
Time spent with app: about a few months
Preferred user agent: computer (desktop)

The Review:

The App:

For a browser, it's fairly tiny. At the time I'm writing this review, it's only 363 KB (version 5.26). But for a little thing, it's pretty fast and full of decent features. It loads up fairly quickly; no waiting screens or anything. Aside from the occasional hiccups, it's very solid.

Some Features:

Before you read any further, it might be best to read the developer's tutorial (located at http://sites.google.com/site/xscopefaqs/). This broken English walkthrough is actually very detailed. It only takes around a minute or so to absorb that. It has images, arrows, etc. Pretty straightforward.