*2767*3855# reset phone factorySupport


Last Updated:

  1. zaphodbebleebrox

    zaphodbebleebrox Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    is this the right code *2767*3855# to reset phone to factory specs ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Cuda52774

    Cuda52774 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Here, let me try it and I'll let you ........Hey wait a minute........Bad Zap!!:mad::p
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,223
    Test it and post back your findings, please.

    Thanks in advance. :D

    Kidding aside, yes, that dialed code is for a reset, although we see varying reports of how "complete" a wipe it is from device to device.
     
  4. zaphodbebleebrox

    zaphodbebleebrox Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    Will this code remove root? I want to update to Froyo without any issues. If this code won't reset the phone is there a code out there that will?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,223
    I would not attempt a factory data reset with a rooted device.

    Anything can happen from nothing to rendering your phone not usable.

    The whole unrooting thing for the Fascinate seems to be up in the air at the moment. I've not been successful at unrooting mine, only being able to get the stock apps back via a method linked in the rooting sticky (http://androidforums.com/fascinate-...-19-october-2010-5-45am-central-u-s-time.html) called, "returning to stock."

    Your Mileage May Vary ;)
     
  6. zaphodbebleebrox

    zaphodbebleebrox Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    This is so frustrating. Either we live with a phone that can be updated with even more bloatware or we have a rooted device that has all the bloareware removed, is responsive but ,can't be updated. And I pay 100 dollars a month for the privilege.
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,223
    There are varying reports on receiving OTA updates (not Froyo) after rooting.

    The last update came to my phone and successfully installed a few days after I rooted and ran the stock apps "unroot" method. I later found out that my device was still rooted, simply by re-installing Superuser and checking files in Root Manager.

    It appears that updates can install if certain apps and files remain in a rooted Fascinate, thus my success after running the stock apps method.

    Others say the update would never install, either timing out or eliciting an error message.
     
  8. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    99
    Being rooted, you will be able to update, but just not by OTA. The dev team will have some baked goodies shortly after the official update I'm sure.
     
  9. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Precisely, there is no disadvantage to rooting. Some will say you cannot get an OTA, ok fine thats true. But everything that comes OTA will be made better by the dev's so MC is very correct. In fact, there's a substantial chance we get our goodies prior to them coming OTA
     

Share This Page

Loading...