A few HTC Hero questions


Last Updated:

  1. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi all, I'm new on here as I only got my HTC Hero the other day, and while trawling the internet for answers this place kept coming up.

    I have a few questions about this phone, or more to the point, the android OS running it.

    I see that it only has android 1.5 on it at the moment, and there are no newer upgrades available yet. That said, I've read in numerous places on the net that android 2.1 is coming to the HTC hero at the end of this week or start of next week depending on your network, is this true? What would this upgrade actually improve? My new phone seems pretty stable and usable as it is already, wasn't voted best phone of 2009 for nothing I guess!

    My second query is about the apps from the android market. When this 2.1 upgrade comes, I expect it'll wipe the phone clean and reinstall with the newer OS. If any apps are already paid for, will I have to pay again to download them a second time? Or is there any way of me backing them up first?

    And lastly, it's only a little niggle, but as soon as I'm on a call, the touchscreen keypad disappears, stopping me from going through automated systems and the like. Is there just some setting I can change, or is there an app available to stop the screen from doing this?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mpw

    mpw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    130
    I'd like to hear an answer to this too if anybody has one, it's one of my few niggles also.

    On a realted note, why is the update dependant on what network I'm on? My Hero isn't a UK handset, so was never locked and just runs hTC's version of the OS; will my update add a network layer to it? or can I update straight from hTC(or elsewhere) earlier?
     
  3. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    OK, the update will come soon, depending on your carrier,
    it will wipe everything clean
    but remember, all your apps, are linked to your google accoutn ( as are your contacts, calender mail etc...)
    so after you install the update
    it will prompt you to log in with your google account
    you log in
    and go to the market > downloads section , and all your apps will be there. ( as will all your contacts etc....)


    when you are in a call, isnt there a little icon at the bottom right to bring the keypad up? or try the menu button, i know it is possble, cant remember how


    it is DEFINATLY worth getting the update . dont skip it

    also some peopel report that they MAY loose some apps - meaning when they reset their phone some of their apps are no longer in the downloads section. so here is what i done:
    Get App brain from the market
    it syncs all the apps on your phone, with your app brain account. so all u gtta do after the update, is download appbrain, and it will have links to all of your previous downloads.
     
  4. heingericke

    heingericke Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    There's an app called CALL LIGHT in the market. Down it and start the service once and your done. Also, you may want to stick it in your ignore list of your current task killer if you have one.

    Here's the link. http://www.androlib.com/android.application.com-mindistic-android-oncalllight-xtDt.aspx
     
    mpw and StuartTheFish like this.
  5. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nice, call light fixed it straight away! Thanks mate! Now the screen doesn't automatically shut off when the other person answers, I can confirm there is indeed a button on the bottom left of the screen to bring the keypad up. Brilliant!

    One other thing, when signing back into here just now, I noticed another thread about it which has reminded me about it. I'll post in that thread too, but basically MP3 playback stutters sometimes. It's nothing to do with headsets or earpieces, as it does it with the normal loudspeaker too. It's software, as it seems to do it most when it has just changed to the next mp3. Could it be some other application hogging resources too much, or is there simply a better player available on the market which handles playback better?
     
  6. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    According to the info I've seen, there are different versions depending on which network you're on. That said, my HTC IS a 3 phone, yet the only 3 related stuff I've found is a pair of bookmarks and extra widgets to link me to planet3 and my3.
     
  7. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    That's pretty much what the customisations are. Mine has a couple of links to the equivalent T-Mobile services.

    Also, the phones mobile internet settings a pre-configured.
     
  8. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
  9. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
  10. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yep, it's still 1.5 on the HTC support page.
     
  11. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    If all the indications are correct there Android 2.1 should start rolling out in the Hero in the next couple of weeks.
     
  12. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    That's the general info I keep finding mate!
     
  13. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Quite disappointed now, I've just seen that 3 also offer the HTC desire too, which according to the info on here seems to be better than hero. Is that just because of the firmware difference, or is the hardware better too? Is it worth the extra
     
  14. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
     
  15. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    So I should see if I can change it for a desire then before my 14 days is up?

    Is there anything the hero does that the desire can't?

    Is the desire the best of them, or is the legend better still?
     
  16. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    there is nothing the hero does, that the desire cant
    desire is the best of them
    the legend has a much slower processor
    the HTC Desire has a 1ghz processor. this is the fastest processor ever put into a smartphone, the only other phones with a 1ghz processor is the xperia x10 and nexus one...but the desire is better than the nexus oen anyawy
    i think the hero has a 533mhz ( half a ghz) processor

    i would see if you can change it, but if you cant its not really the end of the world, but the desire is much better.
     
    StuartTheFish likes this.
  17. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks, I'll call them tomorrow morning and see what they can do. I'll lie and say it's laggy due to it's slower cpu and smaller ram or something.
     
  18. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    In fact, I've just looked on their website to see the difference in price for the packages with these handsets. The hero is free with the monthly contract, whereas the desire is at least
     
  19. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
     
  20. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Like I say, I'm not about to pay up front for a phone when I'm already paying on contract anyway. But since my last post I've kept looking online, and it seems that 3 DO actually offer the desire without any one off payment? Even if that's wrong, some other networks do so I might refer to these other offers to see if 3 want to keep my custom! Can't call them until 8am tomorrow, so I'll see what happens. Fingers crossed.
     
  21. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    The Hero is not over a year old as it was released in June.
     
  22. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well, I called them. Seems they'll go for it, but it's not even actually released on 3 until the 16th, so I've got to call back then. I'll still be within my 14 day return period though, so with any luck I'll upgrade to a desire.
     
  23. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    10
    In the meantime, or if I end up staying with the hero anyway, I've got another quick question. Does anyone know why when I get a message or email it vibrates first, and then plays the notification sound about half a minute later? Shouldn't it do both at the same time? Is it a performance issue delaying the audio playback, or is there a setting somewhere to adjust the delay?
     
  24. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    its a known issue. cant be fixed.
     
  25. superlinkx

    superlinkx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    I think that this is a problem in 1.5 and hopefully will be fixed in the official 2.1 builds (though my 2.1 isn't helping it). There is no setting and it is definitely annoying, but hopefully it will be fixed soon. As for the person asking about rooting. That is the linux equivalent of administrator priveledges. Basically, with root you can make changes to the operating system. Most people use this to load custom ROMs that are either optimized or are hacked newer versions. I am running 2.1 on my Hero thanks to this. Go to forum.xda-developers.com and look for the Hero to get more info.
     
    StuartTheFish likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...