A must read over at xda-developers (get your msl)


Last Updated:

  1. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53

    Advertisement
  2. puffx0r

    puffx0r Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would you care to explain to the fine people of this forum what the MSL is used for?
    For example to change the ringer lag they might be experiencing...
     
  3. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Master Subsidy Lock
    The code used to unlock and program you phone... its individual per phone. Can be used for many things, some good, some bad... ;)

    Google should be your friend with this one, but good link :)

    P.S., there's no reason Sprint should ever give you a hard time to obtain it.

    Regards
     
  4. idle19

    idle19 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    i updated my profile which fixed my phone lag issue. also fixed my wifes too. its inthe settings| About phone| System update
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    You're thinking of something else...

    The MSL is a 6 digit code used to gain access to program your phone's innards!
    lol...

    Be careful with it if used and don't give it to anyone, your phone could be cloned with it and knowing some other info. ;) but of course nobody would do something like that - right!??? lol

    Regards
     
  6. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    You need the MSL to change your Slot Cycle Index.
    He's thinking of the right thing.
     
  7. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    27
    I never had any issues with Sprint giving me my MSL, but I have heard a couple horror stories. You can also use it to manually update your PRL if you're having issues updating it OTA
     
  8. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    im guessing MSL codes is similar to ATT/T-MOBILES unlock codes? they are codes used to unlock phones to be used on other mobile networks?
     
  9. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    18
    This is quick and easy. Works great, thank you for the pointer!
     
  10. bluemark

    bluemark Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I tried this last night. I couldn't find the lines they are referring to: "I/EpstBroadcastReciever" and "MSL Code="
    Does this work with 1.5?
     
  11. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    Worked perfectly!!!
     
  12. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    24

    nope! just to be able to get deeper in the system settings of your phone as well as to manually program the phone
     
  13. americonium

    americonium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4

    I tried to do this on my wife's phone, (it's 1.5), and it wouldn't work. Works on 2.1. I called Sprint, asked for "Advanced Technical Services" and they gave it to me after I asked him to give me the MSL so that I could change my slot from 2 to 0. That's the best I could do. There may be a way to work it on 1.5, but I couldn't figure it out.
     
    bluemark likes this.
  14. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thanks for the post
     
  15. TMay102

    TMay102 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this something you need to be rooted to do? Tried this but it didn't work...
     

Share This Page

Loading...