• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Advice Needed - Bloatware, Speed

Ethere

Jul 29, 2010
York, PA
Just a quick question from a new person to Android....

There are 2 things I'd love to do to my phone:

1) Speed it up. I take it a lag fix is needed for this, but I am not sure exactly which "fix" I should use. Voodoo lag fix? OCLF? From what I've read, the Voodoo lag fix is the one that completely replaces the file system, and is the one I'm leaning toward, but I would like some opinions on this.

2) Remove the bloat that AT&T thinks we need on our phones.

I still want to be able to receive normal OTA updates sent out by AT&T and Samsung when they come out. (Froyo when it's released officially)

I don't need anything special like rooting, or sideloading that I see talked about here all the time. Like I said, I'm new to Android, but I do feel comfortable working with my phone and making changes if need be.

I know, these questions have been answered all over the place, but most of the responses I've found are from the first month the phone came out. Now that the phone has been out for a couple months now, I just want to see everyone's opinions on this now. Thanks for all your input.

1. Launcherpro. It is free, it replaces the touch wiz UI allowing for complete customization of your UI, you really get to set it up the way you want. You can also use it to "speed up" certain things, like app launches, scrolling and stuff. It is 100% safe, legal and wont void your warrenty. You can also hide the shortcuts to the crapware.

2.Titanium Backup: Not only does it back up your apps and stuff, but you can use it to "freeze" the bloatware apps and keep them from autolaunching and gobbling up your battery and data.