• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Android 2.2.1

Goku1989

Lurker
Dec 10, 2010
Hello guys,
I only know how to use what I have and know nothing about modifying stuffs.
This being the case will you suggest me to upgrade my Galaxy-S to Android 2.2.1 (an unofficial version) or just wait for an official 2.3 upgrade through Kies?

If I choose to upgrade, will I till have my warranty intact or will I lose it?

and if I upgrade to this unofficial 2.2.1 version of Android, will I be able to use Kies in the future for Gingerbread upgradation?

Please guys, somebody answer this.

Note: I am not a programmer or any thing of that sort, I just learnt the meaning of rooting a phone and know nothing about kernels and stuffs out there.

With THanks,
Goku

Hello guys,
I only know how to use what I have and know nothing about modifying stuffs.
This being the case will you suggest me to upgrade my Galaxy-S to Android 2.2.1 (an unofficial version) or just wait for an official 2.3 upgrade through Kies?

There are official upgrades to 2.2.1 through Kies, where are you from sayian? And wait for gbread? Hmm. That can take months...
But the late appearance of JPX and JPU roms, makes me believe all world will get soon froyo :D so just wait the 2 weeks and then go with the hacks and flashes

If I choose to upgrade, will I till have my warranty intact or will I lose it?

and if I upgrade to this unofficial 2.2.1 version of Android, will I be able to use Kies in the future for Gingerbread upgradation?

I did this today with the kies reghack. I do believe it voids the warranty. But they would have to proof it and I dont even believe they would make you trouble

Reactions: Goku1989
Upvote 0
I am from India and I connected my phone to Kies even yesterday to check for updates and it says the connected device has the highest version of firmware so no upgrade available.
And I only have Android 2.2 (Froyo)