• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Android application server side

Redan

Lurker
Dec 2, 2016
Hi ,
I am developing a social-network android application, and i am a little bit confused an which server side framework to use.

I prefer to use the Java programming language because i already have some experience on developing using this programming language ( and i don't have enough time to master another one) .

So, i started learning some tutorials explaining the Spring MVC framework.

My question is :
Is it a good choice to have Spring MVC as the server side for my application ?
what are the prods and cons of using it ?

and if it is not a good choice, what other Java frameworks can i use ?

NOTE : It is very important to me to have the ability to implement a group-chat feature in the application (A real-time chat room) .

Spring MVC is an excellent choice of web framework. It's used in the majority of commercial web applications, and is the de facto standard. There's a good reason for that - it has an excellent architecture, and virtually ensures that your application code will have a good structure.
Spring MVC itself is just part of the Spring Framework. There are many other aspects which you are able to utilise. For example, if your application needs a database layer, then most of the standard database technologies link into the Spring Framework e.g. Hibernate.