• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Android developer joining in...

JVene

Jan 2, 2014
Hey all, I'm 50 (for another week anyway). I've been a software engineer / programmer for over 30 years, and lately I've expanded into Android development, targeting OpenGL ES 2 and 3, in C++ using the NDK.

Of course, if you'll pardon the reference, I do write for "that other" phone OS too, and I'm setting up the development system for that (yet another) phone OS that's been on the verge of release for about a year now (the one Samsung is planning).

I joined because my son received an LG Optimus F6 for Christmas, and so right away I realized that despite having an SD card, the phone insists it runs out of memory. I'm a Unix/Linux user/programmer going back to the beginning of Linux and the early 80's for Unix, so to me that seemed absolutely absurd. What's so hard about a symbolic link, right?

Well, a few searches and hardly a question on my part, I found here the (and I should capitalize THE) answer for the missing pieces of the puzzle in my case.

I figure, if Google found threads on this site with that much applicable information, I should join.

Here's a shout out to Tokenpoke - his posts on various threads were key.

So, now that 2014 is more officially under way (that is to say that coffee has finally overcome the scotch, gin, vodka and beer which helped me END 2013) - I'm back to debugging ARM-NEON code under Linux.

Correction, I don't write bugs ;) profiling, tweaking, and analyzing would be more accurate.

Correction, I don't write bugs ;) profiling, tweaking, and analyzing would be more accurate.
Welcome to the forum. I spent my entire software career (over 40 years) writing bugs. I got paid to fix them. At least that's the way I looked at it.