• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Android or Apple Swift for first time app

Bobys

Lurker
Apr 25, 2016
For my thesis I have to develop a mobile application which will be used as a student attendance monitoring system.

The users will be able to check in by scanning Auto Generated QR codes, by scanning the Access Points (MAC addresses) and check whether the student is located in the arranged by the Uni class and other ways that I havent think of yet.

The management of the register will be done by a web app, where only the stuff will have access. The App should somehow send data to that web app.

The basic concept will be what I have already explained, so you've got the idea.

I have never developed an app before, but I have really good knowledge of programming. I have never worked on Objective-C before. But I worked with various other languages, such as Java, Python, C, C++ and many more. I guess there will be no problem of learning a new one with such a background.

My real question is, which platform will be less complicated to start. I know Apple is a bit weird in the background and sometimes is not so open work on. I'm an Apple user though, I've got a MacBook to use XCode, an iPhone and an iPad, which they will help on testing the App.

On the other hand though, we've got the Android Platform which is widely open to work on and a lot of tutorial out there. I have never work on Android devices, even as phone device. So in case I go with Android I have to buy an Android device (I know they are cheap but still is a plus on the final cost).

What do you suggest, keeping in mind Im a novice App Developer? Will Swift be easy on me? With such a project will Apple's limitations affect me? I have no intention of releasing the App on the market, will just be a project for my thesis.