• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

apps running in background?

cloyd

Aug 27, 2012
Atkins, AR
I am new to the world of android, but have been using using Linux on my home computers for about three years now. I may be missing the obvious, but it seems that when I open an app, it never completely shuts down. I seems to always be running in background. I can use a task manager and attempt to shut them down, but it seems like they are still running. I say this because they still show up in the vertical list of opened programs on the left side of the sceen (what do you call the thing? I occupies the same spot as the unity launcher in ubuntu after you click on it's icon at the bottom of the page.) on my asus transformer. How can I completely shut down an app after starting it?

Another, related question: I can hit the power button briefly and the screen shuts down, but it is still on. If any program is playing audio, the audio continues to play, though as far as I can tell the machine is doing nothing else. Start up just takes a few seconds from this state. All of the apps I had opened earlier are still running. If I hold the power button down for about 4 seconds, then it shuts down completely. It takes a few minutes. It takes even longer to start back up from this state, sometimes agonizingly long. When it starts, all off the previously opened apps seem to be closed. Soft shutdown vs hard shutdown, or is the soft shutdown a shutdown at all, and just a way to kill the display and stop that battery drain?

Should I use a "hard" or "soft" shutdown when I am finished using the machine?

Lastly, it seems that after having the machine on for several hours, it often gets slow and sluggish (makes me think of my old Dell that ran XP). Is this because I have so many apps running in the background?