• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps starting up by themselves....?

Monochrome

Nov 6, 2009
Hi,
Android newbie here - The Droid being my first.

I've moved over from a Samsung Glyde (aka biggest pos ever) and am so far loving my droid. I'd like to thank everyone that contributed to the app lists/tips/tricks threads. All of it has made moving over to Android so much easier. Really, those kinds of things help us nubs :p

So far I've only had one real concern with the Droid, and I was wondering if this was unique to my phone, the Droid itself or if its an Android thing.

I downloaded Advance Task Killer as so many have recommended and have noticed that certain apps will simply start themselves running in the background it seems for no other reason than the phone sees the spare memory and fills it up in anticipation that I might run one of them. As you can imagine this is quite frustrating and annoying. Not only does it eat up valuable RAM space but also is eating battery (probably) in the process.

In particular, I notice the Corporate Calender, Voice Dialer, and Visual VM all tend to start themselves up on their own. What's interesting to me about this is I don't even use these applications. In fact, my corporate calendar is not setup, nor have I even opened it once. My phone could be sitting on my desk in sleep mode for an hour and then I'll wake it up and open Task killer to find 10 apps open that I never used.

I was wondering if anyone knew what this was about?

Its an Android thing. I'm not sure of a reason but Apps running in the background don't take up as much memory as people think. When it gets to a certain point, the OS will close background apps that aren't being run to make room