Bricked desire?


Last Updated:

  1. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is my Desire completely done for now?

    I have a HTC Desire on T-mobile. i had recently updated to 2.2. Didn't really like the mess they made of it with all the German applications so i though I'll root it and put a custom rom on.

    So i downloaded unrevoked on my Lynux machine and proceeded. Very easy and straight forward. I then downloaded ROM Manager from the Android store and installed cyanogenmod the latest 2.06 (i think) It didnt work with the google apps so i had to proceed with updating doing a wipe also (i had backup'd all my data and apps using MyBackup Pro)

    All was working fine. installed Gapps easily and then put my contacts and apps on from mybackup pro... then it crashed when i tried to open an app and now it is just on the pink cyrcle loading screen.

    When i go into recovery mode the same thing happens just pink circle loading and thats it.

    Is there anything i can now do for my phone :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
  3. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks man,

    I tied to do this on my work pc but it was having none of it. didn't recognise my phone, think it had something to do with my drivers. Do i need to install the HBoot driver on windows. Or is there a way i can do it via linux on my home machine?

    Many thanks for the advice
     
  4. memgem

    memgem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    is there any way u can load a custom rom onto ure SD card and go into your recovery , with rom manager i have clockwork rom as my recovery, if u can do that then u can open the rom and flash it through the recovery setting?
     
  5. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope can't do this. whenever I go down to Recovery and tap the power key it just goes onto the load screen like it would before it would start up clockwork rom recovery and just freeze.
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    he cant hit recovery


    EDIT:
    you could try flashing a recovery via fastboot as you said you were rooted

    download the latest recovery of choice (ie clockworkmod for desire)
    boot to fastboot
    go to tools folder of sdk in command prompt
    fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    fastboot reboot
     
  7. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1

    what sort of drivers will i need on my windows pc to do it. if any?

    Not sure how to do this. Not that technical when it comes to command prompt and such.

    Thanks
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
  9. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    and got these lines.

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    sending 'recovery' (4216 KB)... OKAY [ 0.611s]
    writing 'recovery'... INFOsignature checking...
    FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)
    finished. total time: 1.093s

    any ideas?

    sorry think i'm being a bit of a pain
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    nah youre not
    I take it you got the latest recovery from either clockworkmod or amonra and made sure it was one compatible with desire right?

    If so then redownload it and try it again
    If it still fails then try and use the RUU mentioned earlier as you should now be able to successfully install the bootloader/fastboot drivers as youve had htc sync installed
     
  11. darrenj87

    darrenj87 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    i tried the first thing you suggested first and it just doesn't recognise that it is connected. :s.. I tried an early version of the RUU and it got to the load screen, like it was going to push it on and then just failed. my phone is servilely over heating as well whilst it is connected. might be an internal problem :(

    I think i will have to face reality and accept it is broken. HTC wont even look at it now since i root'd it :(
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    when you say it doesnt recognise it does it show it connected in your device manager in windows?

    if so try running the newer RUU as Administrator (right click, run as)
    If it can pick it up on an older RUU (it fales as the version is lower that the one you are on) then there will be a way you can get itworking with the newer RUU, you might need to reinstall the drivers or run the drivers recomended by unrevoked

    If you have a goldcard you could also try teppics downgrade method.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=768256

    if you can get into hboot then there is potential of getting this back

    dont be too worried about HTC and warranty due to rooting, ive heard people can send their devices and htc will just flash the device back to stock again and give it back just dont tell them its rooted. whether its true or not is another matter but there not much of a repair cost to them in flashing software and if its a hardware issue then its nothing youve done thats caused it right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...