Can we overclock the DINC yet?


Last Updated:

  1. tluv00

    tluv00 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    249
    Is there a way to Overclock the DINC yet? I have root and I am just wondering.
     

    Advertisement
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Absolutely. Just need a capable kernel such as the Kings or Hydras.
     
  3. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    This question was asked today?
    oh man, check out
    unrevoked

    gangbusters
     
  4. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    You can get hydras kernel already overclocked or get kings and overclock it yourself with setcpu.

    But we have been able to overclock for a long while now
     
  5. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    So glad to see that no one jumped on them and starting bashing.... I like this forum the most. you guys rock. but back to the topic. just a heads up, you should look into using setcpu and a KingXkernel. I have had the best luck with them and you can control the it more then the hydras IMO. But make sure you have a backup that works and just have fun with it. Find the one you like and let us know how it goes.
     
    iowabowtech and necosino like this.
  6. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I agree. I'm sick of the Internet flame wars, and the muscles that keyboard build..
     
    iowabowtech and necosino like this.
  7. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Are there any overclock kernels that can be used with the stock 2.2 w/ Sense UI ROM (rooted, w/ SetCPU)? Or do these kernels depend on a deodexed ROM?
     
  8. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    I believe they do required deodexing, yes. You may be able to just use the stock rom/kernel and use setcpu with the disable perflock feature though to underclock and such. I've not had any personal experience with trying that though.
     
  9. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Using the stock 2.2 w/ SetCPU I have the option to underclock to 248, but not overclock past 998 (those numbers may be off, they're off the top of my head).

    This is assuming that the SetCPU app will read potential processor speeds from the kernel automatically, and I don't have to set anything else. For instance if I were to open SetCPU on a deodexed ROM, it would automatically let me crank it up to 1.2ghz.

    Either way I guess it's not really a big deal since I never find myself hoping for better processor speed at 1ghz. So overclocking won't do anything for me except kill the battery faster... But obviously I'd still like to play with it ;)

    I'd also be interested in underclocking even further to save battery (lower than the 248 I can now, if it could be stable).
     
  10. smtom

    smtom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Using SetCPU to throttle down the sleep/screen lock does a superb job on any kernel, custom or stock.

    SetCPU can help you save your battery, while utilizing the native speeds of the stock kernel. Said another way, you can use SetCPU to conserve your battery, while never tweaking the max clock speeds. The app does either, independently, or in concert with one another.

    Multifunctional tool, that SetCPU.
     
  11. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, it's the first paid app that I put on my phone. So far, totally worth it.
     
  12. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    if you are registered at xda you can search their forums. the developer has the app there for free
     
  13. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    That's ok ... it's a great app -- even if it's available for free I'd consider it a donation. Figured the guy/gal did a good job so I bought him/her a beer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...