Can't put flash_image into system/bin


Last Updated:

  1. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    This may have been asked before, but if it has, I can't find it.

    In order to root, I've got to have Flash_image in the system/bin directory. I don't have that file in the directory. I have the flash_image file from the RUU 2.1 leak I installed yesterday, but due to having no root access, I cannot copy the file into the system/bin folder.

    I tried rooting and got stuck at flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img because it kept saying "flash_image not found"

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    this is a perfect example of why running a RUU for a version not yet proven to be rootable is not a good idea. it also shows that after 2.1 is released we may in fact lose the ability to root until the devs figure it out again.
     
  3. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    I didn't mean to post a soapbox that you could stand on. I was simply looking for help, which I did find elsewhere. I got the file where I needed it and went through the entire rooting process. Everything went as expected, but it does not appear that the phone is rooted.
     
  4. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    Seems I am rooted after all. Great! Now to get into more trouble.
     
  5. willy900wonka

    willy900wonka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I'm having a similar issue but, in my case.. it won't let me add the recovery image to my sd card in the last step
     
  7. willy900wonka

    willy900wonka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC if you're pc based you need the htc eris (2.1) targeted sync program. Read the fore posted link.
     
  8. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I am PC based but I've never rooted before. This is my first attempt. I've done a buttload of reading on it and I was gonna flash a cupcake ROM
     
  9. willy900wonka

    willy900wonka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you're not at the rooted 2.1 from the RUU?
     
  10. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
  11. willy900wonka

    willy900wonka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I guess it would Step #13 but someone in a previous thread told me to manually place it onto my sd card. I did that and went to step #14 w/ the shell reboot but then my phone wouldn't reconnect after the restart so I got frustrated and quit lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...