• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Can't Set Up ATT Email

Susanbee749

Nov 11, 2019
I'm about to tear my hair out. I have been using the built-in email app on this phone for several years. My email is an sbcglobal.net one. Suddenly I can't log in. It says my password isn't right. I deleted the email data and cache. I deleted the account. But when I try to set up a new account, it just gets in a loop and keeps asking for the email address and password. Sometimes "202" appears on the screen. This email address and password are working just fine on my PC and on my Samsung galaxy tablet. I'm totally baffled.Truly appreciate any advice,!

Since apparently your SBCGlobal email account appears to be OK and it does seem to be just that particular email app that went bonkers, before using a more drastic measure like a Factory Reset it might be more prudent to just focus just on the email app problem you're having.
You mentioned trying Clear data on the email app, but try doing that again and then restart your phone before trying to re-add your account info. If you're still receiving error messages trying to just add your account, give some thought into using a different email app instead of the default app. Third-party email apps tend to have more extensive feature sets and more options to customize/optimize the user interface. I like the K-9 Mail app, it has a large number of user options to tweak if you want to, but Aqua Mail and Blue Mail are also very popular and get good online reviews. There are a lot of viable alternatives to choose from.

Reactions: mikedt
Upvote 0