captivate problems...Support


Last Updated:

  1. mcgiddin

    mcgiddin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a few problems with my captivate and I'm wondering if anyone else is having them or has had them and what you did to fix them. The top two listed are of the most concern to me, the rest of the list below are annoying but I can deal with them.

    * Problems sending MMS messages on 3g network and will not send ANY mms messages while on the edge network. (this is unacceptable since I live in edge land...)
    * USB Connection Issues (when I plug the phone into my computer the initializing usb screen flashes then dies and goes back to the home screen, this continues in an infinite loop) (this one really yanks my chain...)

    * Facebook syncing issues. (it worked at one time but no longer...)
    * Application Lag (the phone appears to freeze from time to time)
    * GPS Takes for ever to track.
    * Poor signal strength
    * Contact list is a freaking mess, how in the world are we supposed to manage the spaghetti?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     

    Advertisement
  2. emuneee

    emuneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have the facebook syncing issue and have tried to fix it, but have been unsuccesfull (send Samsung support an email please)


    The lag, you can reduce it somewhat if you install another App Launcher from the Android market such as Launcher Pro or ADW (send Samsung support an email please)


    GPS is a known issue (send Samsung support an email please)

    I have average signal strength, but I haven't dropped a call yet.

    Contact list is customizable. There are options to hide contacts without phone numbers...so that can help hide all those random email only contacts that clutter the contact list.

    Please send Samsung support an email so they are informed of the issues that need fixing.
     
  3. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    - I has the MMS problem. Can't get one to send to save my life.
    - My USB issues are solved by keeping it in debugging mode otherwise it won't connect to my Mac
    - Facebook sync hasn't worked for me yet either
    - The lag is there for sure, but not as bad since I ditched almost all of the widget.
    - GPS basically doesn't work, but nobody with any variant of this phone can get it to work either.
    - Signal strength is an issue sometimes, haven't dropped a call yet, but I have lost data connection by holding it in parts of my house and that was never an issue before.
    - I don't even use contacts. I just use the dialer to quick search them or search from the homescreen so I can avoid it as much as possible because it's slow to load as well.
     
  4. danbee46

    danbee46 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a mac also. How do I put the phone in debugging mode?
     
  5. emuneee

    emuneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    31
    Settings > Applications > Development > Check USB Debugging
     
    danbee46 likes this.
  6. mcgiddin

    mcgiddin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting ready to do a "factory data reset" on the phone and start over.

    The GPS does work, its just slow as hell getting any kind of position and easily loses position once it does get it.
     
  7. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    Doesn't fix anything, just makes you have to start from the beginning with the same problems.
     
  8. mcgiddin

    mcgiddin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to get the MTP Application (usb) issue resolved.
     
  9. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    The MTP thing isn't an issue, it's just a default setting that's non-obvious as to the fact that it needs to be changed (and how to change it).

    Go to settings --> Applications --> USB settings and choose Mass Storage. Then when you connect to your computer via USB, drag down the notifications bar and select "Transfer files via USB" or whatever the thing says. It'll ask you if you want to mount -- say yes. Then you can browse the phone as if it were a flash drive.

    When you're done, Eject/safely remove the drive (phone) on your computer then drag down the notifications bar again and hit the same option to disable USB, then unplug.
     
    Muirne and mcgiddin like this.
  10. mcgiddin

    mcgiddin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well I had some of this right. I did make the changes and found that I couldn't access the drives even though the OS displayed them in Windows Explorer. I failed to gointo the notifications bar, select the "transfer files..." option and mount the drives. This portion seems to work now. Thanks!
     
  11. mi04se1

    mi04se1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    7
    I cant even log into facebook. Tried a few times last night and once today.
     
  12. Alli_Anne_BB

    Alli_Anne_BB Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    my facebook worked at one point, then stopped working. i downloaded the JuiceDefender app (to help with my fast battery drainage prob) and when i disabled the app, i was able to log back into facebook on my "feeds" panel. don't know if you by any change had the same app. but that fixed my FB logging in problem.
     
  13. jrootpa

    jrootpa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am new to both this forum and Android. I had an iPhone 3GS before my Captivate, which is now my wife's phone. I am still getting used to the phone's OS, but I see some potential for it to be a better experience than my iPhone. First plus-no iTunes! Camera is much more robust and HD video is stunning. Now for my 'issues'. I have been unable to 'load more messages' in my email account even in 5 bar WiFi. My iPhone had no problem with this and seemed to cache the messages locally on the phone. The other issue, besides the GPS of course, is that I hear a buzzing at the end of every word from multiple callers. This is at all volumes except when I can barely hear the person on the other end. I need to test further, but it may be WiFI interference. I recall my iPhone acting slightly strange when I was close to my Verizon FiOS wireless router and the WiFi enabled on my phone. This may be the case with my Captivate as well. Another issue I ran into was my android.phone service FC regularly. I think that was a bad setting in my Task Manager since I have not had this happen since I tweaked the settings. I am on the fence about keeping the Captivate; I have about 2 weeks left on my 30-day return period. I will try to learn as much as I can here to end up keeping the Captivate. Sorry for the long post!
     
  14. jasonbrm

    jasonbrm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone figured out why they can't send MMS messages? I almost snapped the phone in half. I have tried to send vacation pictures to several different people. Some people get them, MOST do not.
     
  15. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Well mine was that they accidentally removed messaging from my account. :mad:

    Have you tried calling AT&T yet?
     
  16. jasonbrm

    jasonbrm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried just about everything that I can. I have been studying the problem, and it seems that it is the phone. Everyone seems to have the issue with sending on the EDGE network and not with the 3G. I took the phone to AT&T and they replaced my SIM card, I did a hard reset, I added and subtracted messaging plans, and nothing worked. I hope that AT&T or Samsung fixes this issue relatively quickly, because it is a pain in my ass.
     
  17. johnnydangerx2

    johnnydangerx2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem at one time, and it took me restoring my phone to fix it. Everything has been working fine up until I got home from work today. I tried to connect to Kies and got the same problem.

    Well, I tried to figure out what it might be. I installed a new browser today, Skyfire. I uninstalled it and still had the same problem. I uninstalled Kies and connected my phone to my computer using Mass Storage like others here suggested and looked at the folders on my phone. There was still a Skyfire folder. I deleted it manually. I then reinstalled Kies and it connected without any problem.

    So, for me it seemed like Skyfire was the problem. Have you installed and new apps recently? If so, uninstall them and check the phone folders to see if all the apps folders were removed.

    Hope this helps.
     
  18. snapbabe85

    snapbabe85 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have three issues. I have no problems sending mms messages. But I can't recieve them. It just says downloading, but the picture never showes up. I've gotten like three that did show up. Also, the area code for one contact continually disapears when i try to sent a txt but only on that one contact, and it is saved in there with the area code. My last problem is that I have certain ring tones for certain people. Sometime they work, sometime they don't. Any one else having these particular problems?
     
  19. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    the only fix i had tried was setting the mms size to 100 kb and it seemed to work over 3g and edge its quite annoying that you have to do that but it worked most of the time for me its juts slow uploading thru edge
     
  20. jtamad06

    jtamad06 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    We have the same problem with mms. i dont know if the problem is with the network or with the phone
     
  21. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    RE: for the GPS issue: if you're just having a problem with the time it takes to get a lock..change the supl server to google.com. Changed everything in mine..gets a lock in 15 secs or less in most cases
     
  22. NajaSAKAii

    NajaSAKAii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there something I can do about my facebook, twitter, & myspace accounts not syncing all the time like I believe they normally should? Half the time the sync icon will be red (for not syncing) instead of green( which means it's syncing). When it is red there is a message at the bottom of the screen saying " Sync is currently experiencing problems. It will be back up shortly." It is a bit annoying because when I want my feeds and updates to update it won't. Is there a way to fix this?
     
  23. danielle8766

    danielle8766 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have had all those problems along with constant freezing..i have to take my battery out 5-10 times a day. there is an at&t store that does the replacement phones near my house and ive gotten 2 replacements. the guy who worked there said there are all software issues that at&t can not fix. hope this helps!
     
  24. bitsygalore69

    bitsygalore69 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i play a game then go back to my home page my service is shut off for no apparent reason. If i lay phone down for more than 10 min. The service suts down. After each time i have to turn my phone off then back on just to get my service again!!! I am totslly fed up with this phone!!!
     
  25. lspiderl

    lspiderl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had hte facebook issue

    i simply removed facebook app and reinstalled and problem never returned
     

Share This Page

Loading...