Captivate TV Out ProblemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. resman

    resman New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, just wanted some input from everyone out there. I tried the tv out feature on my new Captivate and my friends 5 hour old Captivate via the 3.5 RCA cables on two different plasma tv's. We did not get a clear output like we saw in the youtube video. We get what looks like an old scrambled cable tv signal. I swapped the yellow and red cable as well as the white just in case the video signal was feeding through one of those cables and we still got the scrambled output. Any guidance is greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mnemic

    Mnemic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I picked up a cheap ipod video cable off of Monoprice.com and hooked it upto my TV, and it works fine.

    Try just the Video cable into the TV, make sure you are getting that out of it. Also make sure the 3.5mm part is firmly inserted all the way into the phone. if the cable is poorly made it might have a bad connection in the 3.5mm jack, so play with it a little bit and make sure its got a good signal.

    I'd blame it on the cable before the phone, and suggest trying another cable if you can.

    (sadly I can't find the cable at monoprice anymore)
     
  3. Dennis_Bham

    Dennis_Bham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    21
    I used a "Monster" brand cable from e-bay ... the video was on the RED cable, not the yellow, but other than that it worked as expected ...
     
  4. resman

    resman New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, so it appears the fault was with my crappy cables. I went out and got an IPOD 3.5 RCA cable and it works beautifully.
     
  5. Alexandria.HAY

    Alexandria.HAY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Rubberdude88

    Rubberdude88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been trying to use this Philips 3.5mm to RCA (Yellow, Red and White) but with no success. Have tried switching the yellow with white and red and am still getting a scrambled picture. I guess from what I have been reading, I should get a new cable?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. buss_stop

    buss_stop New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem at first. What you need to do is go to your phone settings, click display. Click on TV out, then TV system. it should open a list, make sure it is on NTSC, not PAL. PAL is used in European countries.
     
  8. rednine

    rednine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I've tried everything. First cord didn't work. Tried switching yellow for red, and white, TV out is checked, and its set to NTSC. I made sure everything is connected all the way and directly to the TV... so I spent $ for a Samsung brand cord that's meant for this purpose on the Captivate. Same exact problem with the scrambled picture, and loud buzzing audio. I'm so freakn frustrated! Somebody help me! :mad: please
     

Share This Page

Loading...