• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Charging phone bill for in-app purchases?

gabesobol

Lurker
Dec 15, 2010
Hi everyone,

I am not a developer, I am putting together a business plan and have a question that I can't seem to find an answer to.

I want to have an android application where download is free, but there are purchases made in the app to access some services.

Is there a way I can charge these purchases directly to the persons phone bill? Or easily charge it to the credit card they have on file in the android market?

Or would my app need to get the user to put in their credit card info?

Thank you for taking the time to help!!!

I for one would never have downloaded an app like that. If i were to pay for an app i would have done it before downloading it. I hope not there is a easy way to charge a users phone bill instead of getting credit card info. That would have been a massive design flaw, and probably someone would have missused it.

Upvote 0
For this to work the handset's carrier would need to support your application programmatically "charging" for something. I am not aware of any carrier currently offering this, but I agree with you - it would be a "nice to have" capablity.

The obvious issue, and the one the carrier needs to guard against, is the application inappropriately billing for something that it shouldn't. How would they do that? By forcing the user to manually enter payment information it leaves little doubt as to what the user's intention was (though it's a PIA to do everytime).

Check with the carriers, though, and see if this is something they plan on offering.

Upvote 0
Good to know about AT&T.