Clearing the Cache? Huh?Support


Last Updated:

  1. ScubaCA

    ScubaCA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read somewhere that you can "clear your cache" to help speed up your DX by turning the phone off then powering it on and holding then home button then hitting search key and whatever!

    What does this mean? How does it effect my phone? What does it do? How do you do it? Do I need to do it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    Not really sure what it does but it helped my phone out after the update. I did it by:
    1. Power off the phone
    2. Turn it back on but hold the power button and the home button
    3. When the Android guy shows up on the screen press the search button
    4. Use volume keys to scroll to "clear cache"
    5. Use the camera button to select it

    After you done reboot the phone
     
  3. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    For lack of a better term it deletes the phone's (temporary internet files)...but not just the internet, everything the phone stores temporarily. I think it works like this...you get too much in there, and it takes longer for the app or what have you to search for it vs. just writing it from scratch, therefore, using more memory and disc space. I'm sure someone smarter than I could, and probably will, get more technical, but I'm pretty sure that's the jist of it.

    Clear as mud?
     
  4. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271

    I was curious, so I tried it. This didn't work for me. When I tried it, I got an "!" mark. I did a battery pull and ended up in clockwork recovery and I had to do a reboot option. (Yes, i'm rooted. Maybe that's why it didn't work?)

    Anyway, being rooted, I use a cache cleaner and just clean the entire cache of the entire phone with one touch. ;) :)
     
  5. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    When you get the "!" with the droid guy that is when you hit the search button
     
  6. Piercing Heavens

    Piercing Heavens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    18
    What does it do in terms on android OS?
     
  7. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    On a PC we tell users to do this to fix aberrant behavior in some applications that are web based (like CRM systems).
     
  8. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    200
    Phone seems faster with browsing after clearing it.
     
  9. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    What did it help after the update?
     
  10. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    200
    I guess it's like clearing the cache on any computer. Leaves room for the computer to work without going into other memory to perform functions.

    But I'm a doctor not a computer geek dammit :)
     
  11. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    You're clearing a cache. What's in the cache I have no idea. But at some point your going to suffer poorer behavior due to having to rebuild the cache and not finding stuff that should be in the cache (generally things you use the most). So at one point it may seem good, and it may fix some strange behaviors, but remember it's there to speed up your phone in the first place.

    Unless there's a real need like I just did an update and strange things are happening and not to just speed up my boot time by 3 seconds or an extra 50 in Quadrent :cool:I prefer to let the phone sort it out.

    But if you want to clear it it is completely safe so try it you may like it.
     
  12. drone46

    drone46 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think that the point is that you are clearing out the 2.1 crap from the cache and making room for 2.2 to build its own cache
     
  13. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Just download Cache Cleaner from the Market for free. Root only, but works like a charm
     
  14. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
    This.

    Works great.
     
  15. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    408

    ...and you're a GUIDE how?
     
  16. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Ok, ty. I tried it just to try it. I do have root and use cache cleaner. It's a bit easier, but ty! :D
     
  17. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    discovered something today about clearing cache. My phone locked up and fromze the other day and my mp3 issue came back so i cleared the cache. then my battery manager would force close, which i didn't do before. i cleared the cache again and now both mp3s work and so does the battery manager. maybe people having issues with 2.2 hould clear their cache multiple times to fix the issue...
     
  18. raqball

    raqball Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    155
    Thats RUDE and UNCALLED for...
     
  19. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    no need to be mean. nobody knows everything.
     
  20. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    408
    true, but it's in about 20 posts on here

    next time I'll put a smiley in there to make you guys happy
     
  21. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cache Cleaner seems to do the trick quite nicely...thanks for the recommendation...:cool:
     
  22. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    You can also clean the cache on individual apps as well, if you have one specific one that is flaking out. Might be worth a try. Settings/apps/manage apps/<choose tab to display the list you need, I use "All">/tap app you want to check. You have the option to clear data and clear the cache, but I'm wondering clearing the data would get rid of any custom settings that app may have. Anyone try it?
     
  23. ScubaCA

    ScubaCA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know everything...:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...