Connecting Android (Captivate) to Wireless Enterprise NetworkSupport


Last Updated:

  1. deeps29

    deeps29 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I am new to this forum as well as to Android. So far I loved this Samsung Captivate phone.

    My university, VT uses two wireless connection, one is manual login and other is auto login Enterprise Network. This is what my university describe about it

    "An automatic wireless authentication method using the IEEE 802.1x standard is available. Once configured, there will be no need to manually authenticate with each access to the Virginia Tech wireless network."

    This network requires a certificate to be installed on machine. As of now they have support for Windows PCs, MACs and iPhones. Is there any way I can access this wireless network through my Android based phone?

    Thanks you in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. iceman718

    iceman718 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oooh, good question. My school (Georgia Tech) has a similar setup with a WPA network that doesn't require repeated login. I just looked it up on their support site, and it had this to say about configuring the Droid. Not sure how well this applies to your network or the Captivate, but I figured I'd try. Obviously replace anything referencing our network with the hopefully applicable counterpart on yours.

    GTwpa does work on the Motorola Droid A855 (Android 2.1-update1) without root, but first you must go to the Home menu, press "Settings" then "Location & Security" and then press "Set Password" (near bottom of list). After doing this (and typing in an 8-character password) , check "Use secure credentials" two lines above "Set Password".

    Now go back to the Home menu, press "Settings," then "Wireless and networks", then "WiFi settings" and scroll to the bottom and select "Add Wi-Fi Network". Fill in the parameters as follows:

    Network SSID: GTwpa
    Security: select "802.1x Enterprise"
    EAP Method: select "PEAP"
    Phase 2 Authentication: select "PAP"
    CA certificate" select "N/A"
    Client certificate" select "N/A"
    Identity:
    Anonymous identity: blank
    Wireless password:
    Click (touch) "Save" at bottom.

    Now touch "GTwpa" under "Wi-Fi Networks" to connect.

    This has to be repeated when your password changes
     
  3. deeps29

    deeps29 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your answer. However my school's wireless network requires a certificate to be installed on device. I have installed it and tried some settings as you suggested. I will see if it works tomorrow morning. I guess I might need to play around with the settings a little bit and get it worked.
     
  4. mfh390

    mfh390 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Deeps29, have you happened to figure anything out? I go to Tech too and I really don't want to have to log onto WLAN every time...

    I'm gonna keep searching, and I'll let you know if I find anything.

    Quick Edit: Looking at the iPhone instructions it looks like you can configure it by adding a wifi network typing in the SSID and hitting 802.1x Enterprise as the security type. Have you already downloaded the certificate? I was able to just select my cert. from the dropdown menu, then under EAP method I just chose TLS...

    I just have one problem, I am not in Blacksburg until mid-august so I have no idea if this works, I was just bored and decided to mess with it.

    If you are at Tech let me know if it works!
     
  5. deeps29

    deeps29 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Nope, it is not working. I tried all settings as hit and trial but it is not connecting. I have send an email to IT Tech support, not sure if they will be able to help.

    If I get it worked, I will let you know here.
     
  6. mfh390

    mfh390 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah damn, well hopefully they will be able to tell you something.

    Mike
     
  7. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll have to try this at my university (Radford University) when I get back to work on Tuesday.

    SN - Small world. I just came back from GT on a visit to their grad school. Loved it down there
     
  8. mfh390

    mfh390 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. deeps29

    deeps29 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome!! Thanks.. let me try this tomorrow.
     
  10. Stang70Fastback

    Stang70Fastback Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Lol, good thing I found this article. I've had no issues in the past getting both my Windows Mobile, and my Symbian phones connected to the VT-Wireless network, but this EVO is proving to be a pain in the ass, even though it appears to be relatively simple, lol.

    EDIT: IT WORKS! At least on the 4G!
     
  11. toneflem

    toneflem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for this

    Im not a forum noob so i decided to do a search and this helped greatly. let me connect to PAL 2.0 (Purdue University) that is secure under WPA enterprise.

    thanks again,
    tony
     
  12. GTASouthPark

    GTASouthPark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This did not work for my Samsung Vibrant. Our College has an open wifi network. I can connect, and get a valid IP address, but no web pages load. Does anyone know what is going wrong or if there are any ways around this.
     
  13. Segfault

    Segfault Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    26
    GTASouthPark, I think what you are looking at are some known issues with Eclair. One problem it has is with getting the netmask right for 10.x.x.x networks with DHCP. Usually these get partitioned up so they don't use the class A netmask. DHCP tried to send the correct netmask but your phone ignores is. You might be able to fix this by getting a dynamic ip address and then configuring your phone to use that as a static ip.

    The other problem I have heard about is with wpa2 certs where they seem to expire after a short period of time. I think either bug gives what you are describing. You can connect but you can't download any web pages. I had this same problem with the WPA2 networks at my work on my Captivate.

    The good news is that this is definitely in Froyo. I installed the Cognition beta rom over the weekend. Before that I saw the same issues you are describing. Now I can use the wireless network without any problems.
     
  14. bking007

    bking007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The default Phase 2 authentication won't work - TRY "MSCHAPV2" if you want to connect to PEAP wireless network at office/school.
     
  15. its ron

    its ron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. FIAT1999

    FIAT1999 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi deep29,

    Did you connect your captivate with your school net?

    I have the same problem with BCM. I tried the following but it does not work.

    Home menu, press "Settings" then "Location & Security" and then press "Set Password" (near bottom of list). After doing this (and typing in an 8-character password) , check "Use secure credentials" two lines above "Set Password".

    Now go back to the Home menu, press "Settings," then "Wireless and networks", then "WiFi settings" and scroll to the bottom and select "Add Wi-Fi Network". Fill in the parameters as follows:

    Network SSID: bcm
    Security: select "802.1x Enterprise"
    EAP Method: select "PEAP"
    Phase 2 Authentication: select "PAP"
    CA certificate" select "N/A"
    Client certificate" select "N/A"
    Identity: blank
    Anonymous identity: blank
    Wireless password: blank
    Click (touch) "Save" at bottom.

    Please let me know your status!
     
  17. lotreaglesfan

    lotreaglesfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    I envy you all... our school uses Cisco NAC Agent... and there isn't a way to get past it :\
     
  18. shashankdombe

    shashankdombe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi,
    I followed the similar steps for connecting to wifi network in my office. Using my domain name and pwd it connected smoothly. but the problem is in status its connected but there is no internet connection like i cant load the pages in net or refresh the apps.. am using htc wildfire..2.2 froyooo... need help...
     

Share This Page

Loading...