Constantly seeing "Network Unavailable"Support


Last Updated:

  1. AshleyStuart

    AshleyStuart New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been the owner of a Pantech Breakout for almost a month now. It's my first Android phone. I love it. However, I am having problems with the phone whenever I leave my home. I have the phone connected to my WIFI at my home. When at home, it works fine. I am able to use all the apps on the phone. When I'm away from the WIFI, it doesn't always have problems. But on four separate occasions, I've been running errands and I can't get on Facebook, Foursquare, or search the internet. It shows that the phone has signal and, on one occasion, the phone was connected to free WIFI. I'm able to make and receive phone calls, text messages, and emails, but I'm not able to access apps that require internet. Please let me know if there is something I'm not doing right, or if I have some setting messed up. Thanks in advance. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,288
    Likes Received:
    22,264
    *moved to Pantech Breakout forum*

    You'll have this kind of issue if you have conflicting signal strength from wifi repeaters and the cell towers. It confuses the phone. It's usually best to turn off Wifi when you are out of a known wifi zone and enable it only when you are using it.

    With free wifi hotspots, many times it will show you as connected but won't route you properly until you open a web browser and accept the terms of service.
     
  3. Dankees

    Dankees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    14
    My phone has been doing the same thing. I have been running JuiceDefender Ultimate, and it is running so nicely, however, recently, I have been getting the "Network Unavailable" even though my Wi-Fi is off and I have service.

    Please help.
     
  4. BondageSheep

    BondageSheep New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought I would just mention I am also having the same issue. My wifi works great but when i am out of wifi my 3g or 4g connection will not activate. I have been looking for a solution all day and will let you folks know what I come up with.
     
  5. terabyte128

    terabyte128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    I find that my phone sometimes cannot connect to wifi or the data network- a restart seems to fix it. (forgive me if this is not what you mean)
     
    Dankees likes this.
  6. Dankees

    Dankees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    14
    I have done that twice. :-(
     
    terabyte128 likes this.
  7. terabyte128

    terabyte128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Does it work? This only happens to me occasionally.
     
  8. Dankees

    Dankees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    14
    OK, this is odd. I just fully charged my phone, with it off, unplugged the phone, and I restarted the phone. I didn't use the phone at all, and in a half hour, my battery said 94% (with no usage). How can that be?
     
  9. terabyte128

    terabyte128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    The charger doesn't exactly keep your phone at a full charge- it cycles the battery within about the top 5%, to prevent the battery from being overcharged and lengthen its life.
     
    Dankees likes this.
  10. Dankees

    Dankees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    14
    It drops at the same rate at 50% on the meter.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,288
    Likes Received:
    22,264
    Check out Watchdog and see if any of your apps or widgets are behaving inappropriately.
     
  12. terabyte128

    terabyte128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Or try going to settings -> applications -> battery usage and see what is using the most battery power.
     
  13. mpdayii

    mpdayii New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My break out has same problem, but I've found that turning off and restarting usually fixed problem of "network unavailable". My problem seems to be that my phone runs battery down so fast and runs hot(105\110
     

Share This Page

Loading...